Stormy Acadia sunrise

Standard

The photograph above was made on an especially stormy morning along the stretch of granite coastline between Thunder Hole and Otter Cliffs in Acadia National Park. The sun had already risen, but it was soon obscured by a fast approaching storm cloud moving overhead from behind me out over the ocean. From back in my days of using Fuji Velvia 35mm slide film, the conditions made for some interesting light, and a shutter speed of about half a second rendered some motion in the already dramatic waves.

This is a “stitch” of two landscape oriented images, and is from a period when I was fascinated (maybe even obsessed) with trying to get outside the constraints of the traditional rectangular frame that the camera allows. Though this photograph isn’t truly panoramic in format, I was still able to get a little wider than normal by stitching a couple of images together. Anyhoo… it was extremely cool to be so close to the ocean on this particular morning, and I loved the soft color palette that evolved.

6 thoughts on “Stormy Acadia sunrise

I'd love to hear from you...