Postcard from Maine (10)

Standard

5-17-13 Bubble Pond 1

Finally… as we approach the middle of June, everything around these parts begins to green up, and there’s a special little place in Acadia that I always love to visit this time of year. Bubble Pond, nestled between Cadillac and Pemetic, is a jewel of a landscape location, and as you can see from this image, it comes alive after the winter displaying an array of earthy colors that are pretty sweet to see. Made mid-morning, this photograph always reminds me that even though winter will be long around here, springtime will eventually arrive, and when it does, it will bring with it opportunities to enjoy colors that sparkle.

15 thoughts on “Postcard from Maine (10)

  1. That is a beautiful view of that pond. Very peaceful. I am originally from New England, and familiar with the long winters. One of the first events of spring I would look forward to were the spring peepers.

  2. Oh my. I never met David, but admired his photography and the way he wrote about it and the places he loved..and of course, how he wrote about and photographed his sweet Oliver. I don’t get emotional about much, but this sad news has me teary-eyed.
    Expressions of condolence do little to help with the pain of loss, but I offer mine.

  3. PM

    I am so sorry to hear this sad news. I stumbled across David’s photos on the web about 6 months ago and got hooked on his beautiful blog posts. Without knowing him at all, except through this blog, I could sense intuitively what a remarkable person he was. I am so glad he shared a little glimpse into his life and family. With my sympathy and best wishes…

  4. Aloha Patterson’s!

    I had the true privledge to spend the night in your home and the next day exploring Acadia with David in the spring of 2012. In the short visit I learned what an awesome family and person David had. Much thanks for sharing that brief moment with me and ❤ to everyone!

    Aaron Feinberg

  5. David Longfellow

    I’m so sorry to hear of David’s passing. Although I never met him in person I shared his passion for Maine. He was always tremendously encouraging and willing to share his experiences–in the form of his photographs (wonderful), through his thoughtful comments and by his helpful suggestions to those who wanted to explore Maine. He will be greatly missed by the many he touched.

    Dave Longfellow

  6. I am so sorry to hear this news. David’s blog was one of my favorites, and he gave me many suggestions for great spots to photograph in Acadia during the year I lived in that region. My sincere condolences to Lori, Sam, Jack and Oliver. I know you must miss him terribly.

I'd love to hear from you...

