St. Patrick’s Day

Standard

March 17 holds significance for me in two ways. First of all, and most obviously, it is Saint Patrick’s Day. Growing up in Ireland I can remember many a day spent very unproductively celebrating whatever it was we were celebrating… usually from an early hour too! Last year Sam and I were lucky enough to be in Dublin to join in with the locals as they did what they do best… great experience. If you want a quick fix from the Emerald Isle, check out my gallery of Ireland photographs, including the one below from Dunmore Head looking out toward Great Blasket Island.

Secondly, as I check the weather forecast for the coming week, I am pleased to notice that we are expecting a brief spell of almost 70 degree temperatures here in Maine. While definitely abnormal for this time of year, March 17 and St. Paddy’s Day always spell the end of winter for me. The clocks have just sprung forward, we are in the throes of March Madness, and in a couple of weeks we get to enjoy the dogwoods of Augusta during The Masters golf tournament. For me… this is a good time of the year, so cheers!

22 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day

  1. It took St. Patrick’s Day and a travel blog about Ireland to meet another New Englander. I live in New Hampshire for half the year and in Naples, Maine the other half. Love the photo…very appropriate for today.

  2. Happy St Paddy’s day! And, as a native Irish person (as opposed to an American with Irish heritage) I have a question I am dying to ask you. I recently move to the States from Australia, and we don’t really make a big deal of St Patrick’s Day over there. I am intrigued by the sales of corned beef and cabbage here. My parents are both English (with some Irish in there), my husband lived in the UK for 20 years, and we are flumoxed by this selling of of corned beef and cabbage here to celebrate your Irish heritage. Is it really the national dish of Ireland? Really? Just interested to hear your take on it.
    As for the photo above, it is beautiful as all your photos are. I love the use of the diagonal in this image, and the way it, and the pointy rock in the foreground seem to point to the splash of light off the edge of the Island. It gives the image a sense of movement and drama. Love it!

    • David Patterson

      Yeah… the whole corned beef and cabbage thing never made a lot of sense to me. Perhaps back in the 1800’s it was a staple of the Irish diet? I don’t really know, but while growing up in Ireland I never even heard of it… not until I came to the US 🙂

      • Yep, thought so! 🙂 Thanks for confirming, I had an Irish American trying to tell me it was traditional Irish food when I questioned it … so maybe we can just say it’s traditional for Irish Americans …

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Kevin. It is definitely one of those unique places on this earth… one that just begs to be photographed.

  3. When I was in Ireland many years ago you could not get the “Stout” beer from other breweries than Guinness. And I love this beer type, so it was tasted many times over there ….
    Today, fortunately, we have many microbreweries in Denmark (and other countries) – and now there are several Danish stouts 😉
    Your series from ireland is fantastic – including this photo! Cheers!

  4. I know this is a bit late – great landscape BUT it was the Guinness that caught my eye, now that is one thing Ireland can be proud of………..
    I am going for one or two…..or….. in about 3 hours time! I am in Oman not my home York so that makes them doubly special.
    David.

I'd love to hear from you...