Postcard from Maine (1)

Standard

monument cove

Here’s a little something from my home state of Maine. Hope you don’t mind if I indulge myself with a couple of postcard posts of my favorite photographs of Maine, especially Acadia National Park. It’s been a while since I’ve been able to visit in person, but hopefully as the weather warms up and I start to feel a bit better I can get back down there again soon.

Also, rather than me having all the fun, I’d be happy to post any reader requests for images. Is there any particular place in Maine – or Acadia and Beyond – that you would like to see. I’ll scour the archives and see what I can find, and I’d be happy to share any story – technical or anecdotal – that I have behind the creation of the image.

For example, with the image in this post, I wanted to highlight those incredible round rocks that can be found at this location. The flecked pinkish granite in the foreground is absolutely spectacular, and when the waves rock those boulders back and forth the sound is mesmerizing. The sun had already risen when I made this photograph – in fact I had waited until the warm light had kissed the shoreline hanging above the cove. Classic Acadia.

I choose a fairly long shutter to allow for a degree of texture being created within the foreground water, but I also waited for a breaking wave to help create some mid-ground interest. I hope that helps explain the thought process going on as I made this one… and like I said, it’s one of my all-time favorites… Monument Cove in Acadia National Park.

30 thoughts on “Postcard from Maine (1)

  1. Hello David, Love the postcard and your info as always it is very informative and quite good. But best of all it means that all is going good with you and yours. Happy Easter I hope you all are having a good day. Give my love to Oliver and Chester and You and Yours hang in there my friend. God Bless you all.
    Red Sox Lady 35
    Kat

  2. Vicki

    Stunning photo.

    Love the light on the cliffs (?) and the beautiful round rocks shapes in the foreground. Also like the smooth flow of the waves. Some photographers take those longer shutter speeds to the extreme and end up with too much white ‘fluff’ and not enough movement in the waves. I like the waves rolling and crashing (still showing in the upper half of the water in your image).

    I would like to see some more of these type of images (if you have them) and also like to know your camera settings. Is this shot about 1/20 shutter speed? I did try to experiment with a stream flowing over rocks one day, but never seem to get it exactly the way I want it. I need more practice. Or should I say, I need to take my tripod out with me more often so I can try slow shutter speeds. (It’s such a heavy weight to carry with my chronic back pain though).

    • David Patterson

      Camera: Canon EOS 20D
      Lens: 17-40 mm Shot at 17 mm
      Exposure: Auto bracket exposure, Manual, 0.6 sec, f/20, ISO 100, Compensation: -2/3
      Flash: Off, Did not fire
      Date: June 2, 2006 5:20:47AM
      Color Space: sRGB

  3. Thanks, David. I love the postcard. We lived in Maine for many years and, as I flew away from it for a living, I never wanted to leave it when I had time off. There are endless places to explore in all seasons. I hope you feel better and get back there soon.

  4. I’ve never had the pleasure of actually visiting Maine… but through you I’ve traveled some beautiful places in Maine! Thank you for that! Lighthouses… and any coastline picture ALWAYS bring a smile… but truthfully anything you post is worthy of me taking a moment of my day to read, relax a bit and enjoy the scenery.

    Happy Easter to you and yours!

    • David Patterson

      Sorry… my stuff is all from what is a more modern National Park rather than historically true “acadian” history 😦

  5. Dave Longfellow

    Beautiful image, as always. The light and composition are working together in a wonderful harmony. I can’t wait to get to Acadia (and Monument Cove) in June. Keep them coming–anything that you pick out will be a treat.

    Dave

  6. Hey! can you please share some pictures that would interest tourists from all over the world, just give me an idea of the whole region, or it might be a tough mission?

  7. Although I’ve never met you in person, I feel as if I know you through your blog. I think about you often and pray for you and your family most of those times. I truly hope that your treatment will cure your disease and that you will continue to be able to spend time with your family, work, and even photograph a bit. Your images of Acadia and the Maine coast are a breath of fresh air to those of us far from that beautiful coast. Thanks for sharing wonderful images that bring a bit of Maine to the rest of us.
    Your friend and fan,
    Rick

  8. David, This is a stunning photograph. I love the colours but it is the textures that really grab my attention. You have captured it perfectly. It’s as if I could reach out and feel the porous rock in front and the smooth,slippery wet ones behind. I could look at this all day.

I'd love to hear from you...

