In search of a foreground element…

Standard

3-21-14 monty beehive

*Taking a break from the Chemonotony πŸ˜‰

Here’s a rare sighting of me in front of the camera! Not from recent times, this is from the fall of 2002… wait, let me go check that. Ayuh, seems like this was made by my friend Monty all the way back on 9/14/2002 – now that’s quite some time ago! This little vignette of a scene gives a good idea of what it takes for me to come away with a likable photograph.

Nice backdrop – check (The Beehive in Acadia National Park)

Nice light – check (I’m in the shadow of Great Head, and as the sun rises from behind it, the Beehive is slowly bathed in warm color)

Nice composition – here’s where the challenge begins!Β Those are my bare feet in the chilly Atlantic Ocean showing a definite willingness to do what it takes to get the photograph πŸ˜‰

So… when attempting to create a pleasant composition, one of the first things I look for is an interesting foreground element. For some strange reason, I seem to be drawn to vertical compositions versus landscape oriented scenes. Don’t get me wrong… I always look for – and enjoy discovering – landscape compositions that showcase the width of particular scenes, but there’s something special about the effect that can be derived from using a wide-angle lens in portrait orientation. A wide-angle lens can make foreground elements seem larger than they actually are, and by making them appear closer to the camera than they really are, it can also help create depth from front to back within the scene.

Anyhoo… this is why – when composing a landscape photograph – you’ll likely find me (even in 2002) scouring the ground in search of something interesting that might help introduce the viewer to the scene and hopefully compel them to curiously explore my composition further. In the photograph above, you’ll notice my sturdy tripod plopped apparently randomly right in the middle of a bunch of jagged rocks that are littered across the edge of the shoreline. The boundary of where the ocean meets the land is eternally intriguing, one that uncovers and reveals infinite possibilities. In the shot below, hopefully I was able to unearth some of those wonderful possibilities?

Sand Beach

32 thoughts on “In search of a foreground element…

    • David Patterson

      Thanks. It’s all about making an image that is originally yours, and a wide-angle lens certainly gives lots of leeway when it comes to creatively adding something interesting to the foreground.

  1. Hi David nice see you back even if it is an old photo. It is beautiful as always and I hope you will really be back soon but don’t come back to soon and have a relapse take your time and come back completely better. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. Kat

      • hi david…
        meeting my cancer friend today… with lizzy… the lovely little retriever rescue… what i was gonna say… life goes on… so stay positive… all will be good in the end…
        from across the water… little lizzy and myself… πŸ™‚

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Michael. It was neat to re-discover the photograph at the top of this post. I can remember the events of that day very clearly, and I ended up coming away with a few pix I liked!

  2. Michelle Reasso

    David Patterson, I think you’re pretty cool, not JUST because you’re married to my favorite librarian, but that helps. xoxo

I'd love to hear from you...

