As the sun rises…

Standard

12-08-13 acadia sunrise3

…it lights up the granite cliffs of Acadia National Park. From a rocky perch high above the Atlantic shoreline, I spent a wonderful, crisp morning witnessing the dawn of another day. Before sunrise, there was a subtle, almost blue hue which bathed the landscape, though I had a feeling, if patient, that some nice light would eventually climb above the clouds that were hugging the horizon, and that the scene would come alive.

12-08-13 acadia sunrise5

Soft pre-dawn light on the Acadia granite shoreline

A quick glance ninety degrees to the left where the sun was rising presented the scene below… captured in HDR mode with my iPhone, you can see how the clouds on the horizon subdued what might otherwise have been a pretty sunrise. I waited for the sun to get high enough in the sky to peer over those clouds, and the result was a familiar glow on the Acadia granite shown in the last photograph in this post. A high tide – or better still – a high tide that coincides with a big storm – would make this scene much more dramatic, but as with most mornings spent watching the sun come up in Acadia, I can’t think of a better place to be.

12-08-13 acadia sunrise1

12-08-13 acadia sunrise4

16 thoughts on “As the sun rises…

  1. It really looks like a morning shot too! You know how some shots you’re not certain if the sun is setting or rising? In this case, you’ve captured the meaning of a good sunrise capture! Cheers!

    • David Patterson

      Thanks David. Every WordPress theme is different in that each allows for a different sized photograph. This particular theme (Writr) allows me to go as wide as 720px, so I figured why not! When preparing photographs for the blog, I use a PS action I created to sharpen and resize images to 720px x 480px.

      • davidcollinsfoto

        Thanks for that, I’ll check out the detail for my theme and size accordingly. The wonders of technology. I am sat in a bar in England (the old one – England not the bar!) drinking beer and learning about photography what more can a photographer want? In Winter anyway.

I'd love to hear from you...

