Early days and Maine lighthouses…

Standard

marshall_point_light

The rugged coast of Maine is dotted with many picturesque and photogenic lighthouses. When I first started taking landscape photography seriously maybe 10 years ago, these lighthouses were a popular subject of mine. Now when I dip back into the archives, I can find several examples that I think stand the test of time. Very much a beginner when it came to composition, I can remember being ultra-conscious of trying to arrange the elements within the frame into a cohesive and pleasing composition. Compositional skills can always be improved, and even today, one of the challenges of landscape photography that I perhaps enjoy the most is using the camera viewfinder to create an interesting photograph.

Pemaquid_Light

Back in the good old days I was shooting 35mm Fuji Velvia 50 slide film, and for those of you who can remember Velvia, it was renowned for the deep contrast and saturated colors it rendered. I have to admit, I almost miss waiting several days for slides to be processed and picked up from the lab – the anticipation and excitement of discovering if I had been successful or not only added to the magical moment when I fired up the light table and peered eagerly through the loupe. I said that I “almost” miss those days… but nah, methinks I definitely enjoy the instant gratification (and benefit of immediate feedback) of digital imagery more.

rockland_light

In order from the top of this post… a foggy sunrise at Marshall Point Lighthouse with a cheap Cokin Filter and a coincidental lobster fisherman. Pemaquid Lighthouse at dawn with typically vibrant Velvia saturation, lying on my belly at the Rockland Breakwater Light on a cold and blustery morning, and then finally, a brave lobsterman is welcomed home on an icy Bass Harbor blue-sky winter day. Maybe I should renew my relationship with some of these picturesque Maine lighthouses… during the winter months they’re relatively accessible without having to trudge any real distance through a foot of snow. Hmmmm… stay tuned.

05bass_harbor_light(h)_1

25 thoughts on “Early days and Maine lighthouses…

  1. Beautiful shots, I think the first has to be my favourite. It catches that hazy twilight atmosphere perfectly. Wouldn’t have known you’d used a filter if you hadn’t mentioned it! The last is almost the opposite – you can feel how cold and fresh it is. Stunning!

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Kieran. I can still remember hearing the lobster boat putt-putting out of the harbor. I couldn’t see it because of the fog, but knew that if it did become visible, that it might make a nice photograph – worked out pretty well 🙂

  2. love these shots………….. maybe it’s the writer in me but…….. having just watched Spartan again I’m expecting there to be a sniper in that fishing boat in the first shot!
    Terry

  3. One of my favorite lighthouses is Marshall Point it sits right down on the beach. Beautiful shots all of them David thank you so much for sharing with the rest of us. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your family. Kat

I'd love to hear from you...

