Revisiting a favorite photograph

Standard

12-10-13 Round rocks (redo)

Not every favorite photograph has to be of a grand vista. I’m re-publishing one of my all-time favorite photographs in this post, an image that – at least for me – is quintessential Acadia. This is a more intimate view from the field of round rocks on Boulder Beach located just below Otter Cliffs. No ultra wide-angle, sunrise color-popping, wave-crashing excitement here… just a calm composition that accentuates the wonderfully shaped rocks that are strewn all over a place that is special to me. I can remember spending several hours on a foggy morning experimenting with a variety of compositions before discovering what you see in this frame. Like I said… one of my favorite photographs from one of my favorite places.

21 thoughts on “Revisiting a favorite photograph

  1. Andrew Thomas

    Hi David, I can see your attraction to this image….I do remember the rocks at Acadia and thought what great potential there was in this sort of image. And black and white was a good choice, too.
    As much as I enjoy watching Oliver grow up, I must say its been great to see your landscape passion slowly returning! If it makes you feel any better, though we are supposedly into summer over here its still feels like winter at the moment. All the best for Xmas to you and your family
    cheers Andrew and Deb

    • David Patterson

      Andrew… thanks, and happy holidays to you and Deb too. As you can probably guess, I’m kind of attracted to Boulder Beach and the view of Otter Cliffs. This one was from a foggy, damp morning when the light didn’t quite cooperate the way I had hoped. That’s when I switched to Plan B – I had been itching to try and capture something like this for a while, and it all came together for me that morning.

    • David Patterson

      Agreed Steve… in addition to all of the grand and famous places, there are also many, many intimate scenes that are still classical Acadia to be found in the park. A few years back, I decided to stop lusting after photographing all of those far away and exotic places displayed on the Interweb, and instead focus on trying to REALLY explore and convey the beauty of my favorite national park – this photograph was part of that commitment.

      • I used to think it would be great to visit all those lusted after places too, David. But, like you, I have found a lot of satisfaction learning and celebrating the local locales….with the one exception being Acadia. But I go there at least once a year, so it falls into that local category by choice. Without that intimate knowledge it is hard to create meaningfully unique images. The icons that are visited by the thousands and by photographer led workshops yield beautiful images, but for the most part they are repetitions of the work of others.
        With intimate knowledge comes intimate expression.

        • David Patterson

          Steve… well said. It’s good to emulate the work of others as a practice mechanism, but once you get past the ability to make the camera work from a technical standpoint, I’m not so sure that imitating others develops your craft. Having said that… I still have a desire to travel and see the beautiful places that others have already photographed extensively. While I’m there though, I’ll always try and make a photograph that is uniquely mine… even if just by a tiny amount.

  2. I was thinking while looking at your photograph that if one were able to lift all rocks off the shore of Boulder Beach… I wonder what the sand would look like? Would it be the finest, softest pink sand has ever laid eyes on?

    Chad Tracy

    • David Patterson

      Wow… hadn’t thought about that one. Setting aside the notion of removing anything from Acadia (a big no-no of course), I’m wondering if maybe in a thousand years Boulder Beach will indeed be a pristine sandy beach?

  3. I’m going to try to get up to Arcadia this summer and shoot a few I have been all around and I haven’t found a better place that can give me inspiration like Maine. David I wish you and your family a Merry Christmas from me and my family. Take care of yourself and thanks for this past year and your friendship it has meant a lot to me with you sharing your family and pets especially Oliver.
    Kat

  4. How extraordinary! You’ve captured a picture of a doodle I created many years ago, when I was into drawing after meditating for a long period, letting one’s empty mind produce whatever it will; a creative period for me! I did not have the granite markings in mine, but, nonetheless, it is very similar. Of course, I liked my doodle and I like this pic too! Keep going along these lines! 🙂

I'd love to hear from you...

