A Window to the World

Standard

12-8-13 Acadia11 BW(720px)

I’m celebrating the fact that I actually got off my you-know-what and made a new landscape photograph – one that I’m actually prepared to share! I hadn’t visited Acadia in several months, but all that changed this past weekend when local photographer Chad Tracy and I cruised down to MDI for a quick photo expedition. Despite the below freezing temperatures and the biting wind, standing on the rocky shoreline of my favorite national park never felt so good!

I’ll share a few more photographs from what was a beautiful sunrise over the next few days, so stay tuned. After exploring a part of the granite “ledges” along the Loop Road near Thunder Hole, our original plan was to meander back toward Sand Beach to maybe do some long exposures with the surf. We got sidetracked though when I realized how close we were to this unique location, and since the sun was already up, I was excited to visit at a time when I wouldn’t get the willies from it being too dark.

The ecosystem within this sea cave is extraordinarily delicate, so Chad and I were extremely cautious about making sure to walk only on the solid rock. Although not a huge secret, and relatively easy to find, to further protect this little gem I made Chad swear not to divulge the location to anyone else. The approach to the cave – and the floor inside – was quite slippery and tricky to navigate, and to add to the mystique, this location is only accessible at low tide. It was quite an experience to spend some time in here, and as we looked through the window out onto Frenchman Bay, we appreciated the shelter from the chilly winter air. I like this photograph, and I’m going to add it to my portfolio.

If you haven’t seen my full portfolio yet – if interested – you can click on over and check out a selection of my favorite images on Acadia and Beyond (in addition to Acadia, I’ve shared images of Maine, Ireland, Death Valley, Yosemite). If you do visit the site, drop me a line… I’d love to hear your thoughts. If interested in purchasing from the site between now and the New Year, to save some cash be sure to type in the discount code “Acadia” when checking out. A bargain… Happy holidays!

And yes… I’m trying out a new blog theme. Feedback appreciated on that too 🙂

13 thoughts on “A Window to the World

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Rick… it’s a really neat place, and somewhere I’ve wanted to photograph for a while. Finally got there today 🙂

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Linda. It’s pretty tight in there so compositional choices are somewhat limited – making it easy to keep things simple.

  1. Hi David—wanted to tell I for one am glad that you got off your know what. LOL I love this landscape and it looks like the mirror to all the answers you ever wanted to know. Thank you for sharing this landscape with us. I always love your B & W’s but for some reason this one has really hit the spot I might have a story in my future with your landscape. Take care David and thanks again. Kat

  2. David, your work is stunning! Your perspective in your photos shows your passion and love for the areas you shoot, especially Acadia. I love Maine, though I have not been to Acadia. You have definitely inspired me to visit!

    • David Patterson

      Danese… thanks so much for the kind words. Acadia is indeed a special place and I enjoy sharing photographs from there. PS> Lily is a beauty!

I'd love to hear from you...

