A landscape worth exploring…

Standard

BH Otter Point3

This is Otter Point in Acadia National Park, Maine. Despite having spent considerable time photographing in Acadia, this is a location that, until recently, I had not fully explored. The trail from the parking lot leads you to the point in the distance where the trees look like they’re coming down to the ocean, though if you make a left turn, and follow the Ocean Path for maybe 50 yards or so, you’ll be introduced to a wonderfully rocky and jagged shoreline with all sorts of textures and shapes to explore. I was perched here waiting for the clouds overhead to light up as the sun set behind Otter Point, and I did my best to include some of the striking leading lines in a relatively rare (for me) landscape oriented composition. Once again, here it is in black and white… I’m torn between the two this time… on the one hand I like the subtle colors, especially the earthy tones, but the black and white once again accentuates the shapes and lines. I’d be curious to hear your thoughts on this one…

BH Otter Point3 BW

14 thoughts on “A landscape worth exploring…

    • David Patterson

      Thanks for the comment. I like the color version, but I feel as though I always have to explore the black and white version.

  1. I agree. Whilst I love black and white photography, there is something about the colour photo that, in this instance, grabs me more. It looks like a beautiful part of the world.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks. It truly is a beautiful part of the world, and I too love exploring black and white photography. This is one of the more subtle – maybe even least colorful – photographs that I have posted to the blog, so it’s interesting to see that people prefer it over the black and white.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks… I enjoyed watching the light change over the course of the evening, and I too like the subtlety of the color. I made this photograph hoping that this wasn’t the peak of the sunset. You just never know how the light is going to develop, and luckily for me on this occasion, the light continued to improve 🙂

  2. I’d have to go with the color on this one. Interestingly, it seems to bring out all the textures in the layers of rock that are in this area more effectively then the b&w. I’ve been enjoying your series of photos from your trip!

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Carol. Glad you’re enjoying the photographs, and thanks for the recommendation of Otter Point… I really enjoyed spending time there and I’ll definitely be back for a sunrise.

  3. David, I have never been anywhere in Maine so your pictures bring into view what I have been missing I feel all the color pictures but I always come back to the B + W because they show all the details in a more dramatic way. Thank you so much for sharing with us the Maine you love. Kat

    • David Patterson

      Glad you like the black and whites… I do too. There’s something simple and uncluttered about them that I like.

I'd love to hear from you...

