430 seconds of misery

Standard

BH Otter Point2 BW

One of my favorite types of photograph to make is a long exposure of a pretty scene at the edge of the day. As the evening transitions to twilight, the change in the light can be both soothing and quite breathtaking. A long exposure of such a scene can capture colors and movement that our eyes could never see, and in many cases lead to a more interesting landscape photograph. In this photograph, I set my aperture to f14, my iso to 50, and using my remote trigger, I held the shutter open for at total of 430 seconds. A sturdy tripod is obviously a must to create an image like this, as is the ability to withstand the misery generated by the barrage of biting bugs that come out for a sunset dinner along the shoreline at low tide. Oh yeah… and a strong headlamp to help you navigate back to the car so as not to get the willies in the pitch dark. I mentioned the misery caused by the vicious bugs, but despite how much they must have enjoyed feasting on my blood, it was still exhilarating to experience an amazing sunset in a such a beautiful place. These are actually a blend of two exposures… one for the foreground rocks (6 seconds), and one for the darkening sky (430 seconds with a 6-stop neutral density filter on). Here’s the color version too… remember, this was made when it was pretty dark. I have a couple of other versions made earlier at the height of what was a very colorful sunset… I’ll share those in the next few days.

BH Otter Point2

14 thoughts on “430 seconds of misery

  1. This is an incredible shot – I see what you mean about capturing image beyond the eye. The colour version brings an entirely different view to life. Thank you.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Mike. The black and white is my kind of thing… I love the textures and the mood. I forgot that you can see the color version if you click on the black and white once, then twice. I’ve gone ahead and posted the color to this post… thanks again.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks. When converting to black and white, I enjoy having the freedom to explore different processing choices, and I really do like getting some deep blacks in there.

  2. That black and white is stunning! The highlights on the rock are wonderful.
    (I understand about the bugs – I actually have a bug jacket for such ‘occasions’ – if you don’t mind looking like a bog person…)

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Karen. I appreciate the kind words. Maybe I’ll have to get myself one of those stylish jackets you’re talking about 😉

    • David Patterson

      Thanks. I got lucky on the very last evening of our vacation. Before that, it was fog and gray skies most of the time.

I'd love to hear from you...

