Blueberry barrens

Standard

6-7-13 blueberry1

More from my recent drive down east. Maine is famous for its blueberry harvest… in fact, Maine’s 60,000 acres of blueberry fields produced 83.1 million pounds of berries in 2011. Much of the land near the coast of Maine is acidic and largely un-fertile, though indigenous blueberries seem to thrive in what can best be described as difficult growing and seasonal conditions. At this time of year, even before the berries start to show, the hardy barrens are a pretty striking sight, but when late summer and then the fall rolls around, the predominant color on the ground changes to a deep, deep red, and the view becomes absolutely stunning. Buzzing along the road, the winding dirt road leading through the blueberry barren caught my eye, and as always, I listened to the little voice in my head and turned the car around to stop and make a photograph. Not a Pulitzer prize winner, but I’m a big believer in taking every opportunity to practice whatever it is you enjoy doing. Getting better at anything isn’t easy, and you aren’t going to improve without doing… so I did.

6-7-13 blueberry2

12 thoughts on “Blueberry barrens

  1. I love blueberries, especially those little ones. You can’t find them much hear near Minneapolis, but I remember a long time ago when I was camping in northern Minnesota, there were a lot of them. I think it was in September or November. In Lake of the woods. We made blueberry pancakes, and we caught a few small Northerns.
    If you think of it, in the fall, I sure would like to see this picture again–with blueberries.

  2. My friend has blueberry bushes (which are producing now in South Louisiana) and her three golden retrievers love swiping the newly ripe berries right off the bush. Don’t tell Oliver! By the way, I see he’s now getting special billing at the top of your blog page. 🙂

    • David Patterson

      Wild blueberries on the trail later in the summer will be nice, and yes, I figured it was time to make him a full partner in the blog 🙂

  3. I don’t know why but when I looked at this I just started to think of a novel by Justin Cronin called ‘The Passage’, I’ve no idea why!

    It gives the impression of desolace, quiet – nothingness. Nice work.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Karen. Things are good now that summer is here, though I guess we have shorter days to look forward to already!

I'd love to hear from you...

