My $11 beer…

Standard

…tasted great, even though it was a watered-down Bud Light in a plastic cup. What made it taste especially good though, was the fact that as I enjoyed it, I was perched high above Yankee Stadium watching my beloved Red Sox pummel the New York Yankees 11-1!

6-1-13 ys2

Sam just started a summer internship in Manhattan this week, so he and I were making our way down to the Lower West Side of the city to get him installed temporarily in Aunt Joan’s now empty apartment. It was late on a Saturday afternoon as we zipped along the Merritt Parkway through Connecticut, and as we flipped between the local radio stations, we realized that the somewhat surprising first place Sox were going to be in town at the same time we were.

6-1-13 ys1

It was a gorgeous evening at the tail end of what had been the first really hot weekend of the summer, and we both now wondered how difficult it might be to get ourselves to the stadium for the 7:10 p.m. game. We knew that since the new Yankee Stadium is so big, there was a good chance we would be able to get tickets easily, so Sam went to work on the phone. Ten minutes later… score. This version of Yankee Stadium is an impressive place. There isn’t a bad seat in the house, and the combination of mid-80 degree temperatures and a cool upper deck breeze made for a pretty amazing experience.

6-1-13 ys3

The last time I was in Yankee Stadium was for the infamous night when Grady Little left Pedro in too long and when Aaron”bleeping” Boone hit a 10th inning Tim Wakefield knuckleball for a walk-off home run to send the Red Sox crashing out of the playoffs. That night I was snuggled in with the bleacher creatures – and boy was that an experience – but this time we were in a much more comfortable, and safer, environment. I can’t think of a better way to spend a summer evening than watching baseball (and the Red Sox)… even if the beer did cost $11. Go Sox!

6-1-13 ys5

21 thoughts on “My $11 beer…

    • David Patterson

      Quite the rivalry isn’t it? We’ve been lucky enough to get to see them play each other quite a few times.

  1. You’re lucky you weren’t there the next day when it absolutely poured with thunder and lightning so close it sent both dugouts diving off their benches. Glad you’re here (or were here) in NY!

    • David Patterson

      Saw the video of both teams getting startled by the thunder. Glad we had some nice weather when we were there.

  2. wanderingseniors

    Great photos! Yankee Stadium (or anyone, for that matter) should hire you as their photographer. A summer internship in Manhattan sounds like a dream.

  3. David, when I lived in Boston and went to the games at Fenway Park I can remember buying a beer for about $8 and it was water downed too but gosh I love the Red Soxs and love to watch them play…no matter how much I paid. Glad you had fun. Take care and Happy Father’s Day which is coming up very soon. Kat

  4. I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Please check out the procedure for accepting the award. I enjoy your blog and wish you continued success.I look forward to reading your posts. I have not been to the new stadium but I sure have great memories of the old one.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks for the nomination. I really do appreciate the gesture, but I can’t promise that I will fulfill the obligation to accept it. It’s amazing how similar the new stadium is compared to the original.

I'd love to hear from you...

