Making a new impression

Standard

4-12-13 gcblur1

Regular followers of my blog will know that I have this strange affinity for impressionistic images created when the camera is moved while the shutter is open. I haven’t actually done any of these for a while, but this morning while out on the golf course walking with Oliver I came across this little stand of trees that just cried out to me. The sun had just crested the horizon, and the warm, golden light that bathed the scene was quite remarkable. Normal… and then blurred… so you can see the before and after. And then I’m including a few more examples of this type of photograph. I love how the colors and shapes bleed together yet still present a hint of reality, and when printed large on canvas the textures really add another dimension.

4-12-13 gcblur2

Some more…

4-12-13 acadia birches

4-12-13 bangor forest 1

4-12-13 bangor forest fire

4-12-13 cadillac sunrise

4-12-13 bassharborblur

29 thoughts on “Making a new impression

  1. I always enjoy when you do a post with some of your motion shots. The next to last one almost looks like the porcupine islands from atop Cadillac mountain in the fog. So, I’ll be anxious for your to tell me what it REALLY is. 🙂

    • David Patterson

      Thanks… they do indeed look like paintings, especially if printed on canvas. The nice thing is that they are very easy to make, there’s no mess, and it’s fun practicing.

      • I would try to do that with my camera, but I have no idea how… I never made it through the instruction manual, and the only thing I know how to do is the same stuff I do all the time. ha! Do you use a tripod and move the camera up/down and then “jiggle” it?

        • David Patterson

          Okay here’s what you do. First figure out how you can change the mode on your camera to where you pick the shutter speed. I am not sure what the Nikon equivalent is, but on my Canon camera dial I choose TV mode (time value). You could also just put your camera into manual mode and choose the shutter speed as well. Set the length of time that the shutter is open to anywhere between a quarter and one second. If in TV mode, your camera will try to choose an f-stop, or the size of the aperture, that will provide a correct exposure. While the shutter is open, move the camera in a direction that will accentuate the lines and shapes in the scene. I should mention that the only way you’ll get a shutter speed of around half a second is if the light is low – for example, if you’re indoors, or earlier in the morning, or in the shade, or later in the evening as the sun goes down. I would recommend that you start moving the camera and then press the shutter – that will result in a smoother path and a less jaggedy image. Experiment and then look at the LCD on the back of your camera – then try again. It’s quite easy actually and a lot of fun.

I'd love to hear from you...

