Canvas

Standard

3-22-13 canvas2

I used to think that photographs presented on canvas were kinda kitschy. I didn’t get the allure of printing onto a medium I initially believed would not be able to hold the detail and sharpness that I had spent so much effort to obtain in the first place. That all changed last summer though when we spent a weekend in the newly opened West Street Hotel in Bar Harbor. When I first walked into the lobby, I was blown away by several large, square, canvas prints of Acadia landscapes that were hanging on the walls. I literally walked over to admire each of what must have been 40×40 pieces, and I was in awe of the detail and the depth that the canvas exuded. I vowed there and then to give canvas prints a try.

3-22-13 canvas1

Fast forward to this week, and a couple of my favorite Maine and Acadia landscapes printed on canvas just arrived. I ordered a black and white 16×24 of a moody morning spent at Otter Cliffs, and I also ordered a 20×30 of a wonderfully colorful sunrise from Bass Harbor Light. Any concerns I had about losing detail when on canvas were dispelled the instant I opened them up. The texture of the surface seems to hold the detail beautifully, and there appears to be a depth to this type of presentation that isn’t always evident in many traditional paper prints. As you can see, the color of the walls in our house aren’t exactly neutral, but trust me, despite the bold contrasts, these pieces are very impressive when hung. Here are the two images as originally presented on the web…

bassharborlighthouse(11**)

5-23-12 Otter Cliffs 5 BW(sm)

2 thoughts on “Canvas

I'd love to hear from you...

