An alternative to Instagram

Standard

I ditched Instagram a while back after they announced what I considered to be greedy changes to their terms of service. Rather than re-hash that whole debacle though, I’m moving on, and I’m sharing an alternative to what was once my favorite iPhone app.

I have to admit, I kinda like the simplistic approach that many photo-sharing apps take toward using filters and effects to process photographs. Some might argue that using these apps and their features actually “dumbs down” the artistic process, but me… I’m all for a little filtering and tilty-shifting… as long as it’s in good taste of course!

My new go-to alternative to Instagram these days is a little app called EyeEm. As with Instagram, it offers several interesting options for applying funky filters and effects to your photographs. It is also a social platform like Instagram was, but I don’t use it for that at all. Other apps I’m a fan of include Snapseed, Camera+, Wood Camera, and B&W Lab.

Here’s my workflow (really should be called playflow) using EyeEm… I make my photograph using the standard camera app that comes pre-installed as part of the iPhone iOS, though you could obviously just use the camera built right into the EyeEm app. That photograph is saved to my camera roll, and I use the EyeEm app to open it, crop it if desired, and then start experimenting with the filters. When finished, my “filtered” photograph gets saved to my camera roll alongside the original.

Anyhoo… here’s a little sampling of a photoshoot I did with my baby Oliver over the weekend. He was quite pleased to be invited onto the sofa, but I he soon realized that he’d rather be on the cooler wooden floor. This is him with a little bit of EyeEm’s “Earlgrey” filter applied… it’s quite similar to Instagram’s “Earlybird” filter. I just like how soft it makes these photographs feel.

3-4-13 olivercollage

12 thoughts on “An alternative to Instagram

  1. David, The pictures of Oliver are great and thanks for sharing with the rest of us. Thanks also on the info always. Hope your starting to get lots of spring weather here the weather hasn’t decided yet!!! LOL Have a good day David, Jack, Mrs David and the rest of the family.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks… spring is a little slow to arrive this year, but isn’t that always the case in northern New England!

  2. My family says I’m hopeless with a camera and that may be but I know great pictures when I see them… I love yours and Oliver is a stunning model.
    Just a thought: maybe if the grandkiddos would hold still I could do better?
    Until then, your photos inspire me… Thanks.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Ellen. Oliver doesn’t stay still too often either, but if he’s got a stick, a ball, or a treat… then I’ve got a chance 🙂

I'd love to hear from you...

