Calm before the storm

Standard

2-8-13 oliver2

Nor’easter Nemo is on it’s way to Maine, and here in Bangor we’re expecting somewhere between 18-24 inches of snow over the next 36 hours or so. A couple of inches of light, fluffy powder fell this morning, though that had tapered off by about noon. The heavier stuff isn’t scheduled until later this evening and into the overnight hours, so the calm before the storm created a brief window of opportunity to get Oliver out before the full brunt of the weather arrives. Those dark clouds in the background… that’s Nemo.

2-8-13 oliver3

Oliver paid a visit to the groomer this morning. His visit to the doggie spa got him a warm shower, a pedicure, and a rather nifty haircut. We’ve been brushing him every day, and just last week we had to give him an emergency bath – that was a sketch – but we felt that, in addition to taking care of his hygiene professionally, it was time to get him acclimated to the groomer. I have to admit, dropping him off and leaving him for an extended period of time brought back a rush of emotion similar to when I dropped Sam and Jack off at daycare for the first time. No need to worry… though a little nervous, apparently he behaved like an angel!

2-8-13 oliver4

Depending on the conditions, I’m going to try and get myself down to Acadia on Sunday morning as the storm clears. It has been a LONG time since I made a landscape photograph, so what better time to get back in the saddle than when a huge storm hits my favorite national park. The Maine coast is expecting as much as two feet of snow in places, and that should make for some unique and spectacular wintry scenes. Though always respectful of the power of nature, here in Maine we’re kinda used to storms like this, so I’m hopeful that the roads will be somewhat clear by Sunday morning. Stay warm and stay safe!

2-8-13 oliver1

34 thoughts on “Calm before the storm

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Luke. Whether or not I can get down there for the morning will all depend on the road conditions. Fingers crossed!

  1. Viewing your blog is bittersweet, especially reading that you were taking advantage of a brief window of opportunity to get Oliver out. I used to do that with Marcos, but with the storm coming and his rapidly failing condition, I was afraid he would get even worse in the brunt of the storm. That, and realizing the storm would be too much to let him out in, hastened my decision to have him put to sleep. I was hoping he would choose to end his 14 years on the planet peacefully at home. His passing was peaceful however. So enjoy each and every one of the 14 or so years you and Oliver have together

    • David Patterson

      I’m soooo sorry to hear about Marcos. It must be a very difficult time for you, though I’m sure you must have some wonderful memories of him to comfort you. Hugging Oliver right now…

    • David Patterson

      The more I look at the forecast, the less likely it will be that I get to Acadia for sunrise on Sunday. I am determined to get back down there though.

        • David Patterson

          The storm is winding down but there’s no way the roads will be clear for the morning, so I think I’m going to skip my trip to Acadia

      • 10 months of rain? You’d like that over an occasional snowstorm? Piffle!

        It hasn’t been that warm here. Mostly in mid 40s daytime. And on top of that, there’s the constant humidity, which makes the temps feel colder. It gets into your bones and you feel like you’ll never be warm again. Makes it hard to muster up the motivation to get out of bed some mornings.

        In contrast, when I lived in Colorado, I’d go out in my regular street clothes and just a light jacket and feel comfortable when it was in 20s.

        Enjoy the snow for me!

        • David Patterson

          Growing up in Ireland, I can totally relate with the cold wet climate. It never got hot and it never really got cold there – I remember it just being damp and feeling chilled to the bone for most of the year.

    • David Patterson

      It’s going to take us a little time to dig out, but it will be fun seeing Oliver in the deep snow at the golf course tomorrow.

    • David Patterson

      It’s sort of like when your kid gets his first haircut – all of a sudden they look really young again. He’s a good boy… most the time.

  2. Skip

    I can’t wait to see pictures of Oliver plowing through two feet of snow! How soon do they get to the park road after a storm? The weather forecast tonight said the snow will end Saturday evening, so you may get there. Good luck.

    • David Patterson

      I decided not to try to get to Acadia tomorrow My guess is the roads aren’t going to be clear by the morning. We will get to the golf course though, and there’s going to be at least a foot and a half of snow there!

    • David Patterson

      We ended up getting between 15 and 18 inches of snow but what was really weird was that the wind blew the snow into really deep drifts in places. Snow was piled up as high as 5 feet or so and in other places there was hardly a dusting.

  3. How’s it looking so far weather wise? We don’t have any snow yet here (in Minnesota), but it will come. Any chance you can take some pictures of it snowing and blowing. Would that make a good picture? or maybe it would be too blurry. Or maybe your power is out. Just curious. i hope all is well.

I'd love to hear from you...

