My Acadia morning in black and white

Standard

I love experimenting with black and white. There’s something striking and atmospheric about a good black and white photograph, and lately I have become more and more intrigued by this medium. Converting to back and white tends to allow you to see if the composition and the elements within the frame stand on their own merit without all of the pretty colors that sometimes catch our eye. Here are a couple of images from my recent morning in Acadia  – a few that I thought might translate well to black and white. When it comes to black and white, I find myself wanting to boost the contrast between the darker and lighter areas within the photrograph. I like those deep, dark blacks, and in these particular compositions, I really like how the highlights on those famous round rocks of Boulder Beach are accentuated.

18 thoughts on “My Acadia morning in black and white

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Karen. I’m kinda hooked on trying to create good black and white images, though sometimes I think I might go too far with my interpretation. I like them, so it’s good to hear that others do too. Much appreciated.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Ed. That last one was a 4 second exposure, iso 100, and f16. I might have had a polarizer on for that one, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t have the ND filter on.

  1. marialla

    THANK YOU – REALLY GREAT PICTURES. YOU ARE RIGHT , THERE IS SOMETHING ABOUT BLACK AND WHITE THAT YOU CANNOT GET IN COLOUR (AS NICE AS COLOUR IS). THANK YOU AND KEEP UP THE WONDERFUL WORK!!!

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Marialla… I appreciate the comment and kind words. Thanks for stopping by. I’m hooked on creating black and white photographs.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Scott. I really do enjoy working on and showing black and white photographs. Perhaps it’s the “newness” of it all to me?

I'd love to hear from you...

