As the day begins…

Standard

I arrived at this location in Acadia National Park about an hour before the sun was scheduled to rise at 5:24 a.m. I needed my headlamp to navigate the short but tricky climb down onto Boulder Beach, and as I made my way down to the edge of the ocean, I enjoyed the first signs of a new day coming over the horizon. I love this time of day. I love that it is still more dark than it is light, and that the colors and the atmosphere are changing quickly. Some of my favorite photographs have been made before the sun comes up, and many of them are longer exposures like the one below. I always look forward to finding a pleasing composition, setting my tripod and camera up for what will be a long exposure, and then using my remote to experiment with how long the shutter is open. I’ll set the camera to “bulb” mode and just start guessing at exposure times. Beginning with fairly short exposures of maybe 3 -5 seconds, after checking the LCD and histogram, I’ll make adjustments to how long the shutter is kept open. I love photographing the deep colors and subdued light that can be found at this time of day, but more importantly, I love breathing in the cool morning air and being in a place so special.

22 thoughts on “As the day begins…

  1. Bill

    David, I’ve seen many of your images from this spot and all are beautiful. It seems like each one is better than the last. I’m just sorry I will not be there at sunrise when we come in Oct. Some day I’ve got to go to Bar Harbor and spend a week. Wishful thinking. Anyway, hope to see you sometime in the near future.

  2. David, I am inspired again and again by looking at your great photos – and then closing my eyes and imagining you going out into the darkness over there to these beautiful sites – bringing your tripod (which I often forget to bring along) and experimenting in the dawning days with the slow shutter speeds (which I seldom use because I did not bring tripod) … …….

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Truels… it is good for the soul, and if I come home with a nice photograph to remind me of the morning, then it’s a good day.

I'd love to hear from you...

