My first “real” photograph

Standard

From a few years back, and then a couple of days ago… these two photographs are of West Quoddy Head Lighthouse in Lubec, Maine. When I first became seriously interested in landscape photography, I can remember making a very early morning run to see the sun come up at this location. I had viewed other photographers’ impressions of the red-and-white striped beacon, and was of course then intrigued to see it (and photograph it) for myself.

The photograph above was originally made on Fuji Velvia slide film and then scanned, and it was probably one of the first photographs of mine that I really liked. I can remember being excited to get the film processed, and when I placed the slide on the light table and looked through the loupe and saw something I liked… old school, but priceless.

The photograph below was made with my fancy, modern Canon 5D MK II DSLR, and was more of a “happened to be in the area” type shot this time around. Even though the middle of the day light was a little harsh, I enjoyed reminiscing about my previous visit to this location and my journey over the past few years making landscape photographs.

Different conditions for sure, but I still marveled at what is an incredibly striking landmark, and I couldn’t help but appreciate how very lucky I am to live in a state as beautiful as Maine.

19 thoughts on “My first “real” photograph

  1. One of the regions of North America, I definitely want to visit. Not only for a day or two, but seriously taking time to walk into the woods, to see the shore line. And of course to visit one or the other lighthouse, too. Thank you for the inspiration πŸ™‚

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Aisling… that was actually the morning… just before sunrise. I too love the light at that time of day/night.

  2. Oh – My – God…Your first real photograph is extremely beautiful. I love the reflection of the sunrise on the window. The second photo is also great with a beautiful sky and I love the contrast between the sky and the grass, the grass emphasises even more the beacon.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks. I can remember waiting for the slides to come back from processing, and when I put this one on the light table it looked awesome. I had no idea what i was doing back then, but I really liked how that first one turned out.

I'd love to hear from you...

