The Easternmost point in the United States

Standard

West Quoddy Head is a little spit of land near Lubec, Maine, that just happens to be the easternmost point in the United States. It is also home to one of the most striking lighthouses to be found along the coast of Maine. Built in 1858, the impressive red and white striped beacon stands guard over the Quoddy Narrows which stretch between the US and Canada, and it also sits on the piece of US soil closest to Europe. Not only do you get an amazing view of the downeast Maine rocky shoreline, but off in the distance you also get a glimpse of Grand Manan, the largest island in the Bay of Fundy. There were some pretty wildflowers growing in the immediate vicinity of the lighthouse, and those red-and-white stripes were quite remarkable.

25 thoughts on “The Easternmost point in the United States

    • David Patterson

      Yeah… I always look forward to seeing what kind of wildflower show we get, and this little patch of un-mowed ground delivered beautifully.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Carol. It’s quite a hike (drive) to get there from here, so I don’t visit very often. I was happy to find the little patch of wildflowers to use in the foreground, and unlike in the first image, I kept everything in focus in the last one.

    • David Patterson

      It is indeed very beautiful. Just one of many, many gorgeous lighthouses we have along the coast of Maine.

  1. I’m catching up with your posts, I don’t have as much time as in fall and winter to visit blogs, summer is a busy season !
    I adore the photos with the wildflowers, I think they’re my favourites among your photos taken under the bright sun. (I hope I make sense, sometimes I don’t always find the right words to express what I want to say. English is not my mother tongue)
    One can’t miss this lighthouse with it’s stripes, it must be easily seen from afar. It really is a beautiful place !

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Jocelyn… this is a very “Canadian” lighthouse. There aren’t many in Maine that look like this, but with this one being so close to Canada it very much resembles what you might find in the Maritimes.

    • David Patterson

      It’s a pretty special place for sure. I might try to get back here in the winter… now that might allow for some unfamiliar elements to be added to the compositional possibilities.

I'd love to hear from you...

