As the sun goes down…

Standard

This time of year the sun sets directly behind the Bass Harbor Lighthouse in Acadia National Park, creating a wonderful opportunity to use the famous silhouette of the headland compositionally. In this photograph, I slapped my 6-stop ND filter on to get a long-ish exposure of 6 seconds, and I think it somewhat simplifies the scene. I like how the smoothed out ocean mirrors the tasty color gradient in the sky, and I also enjoy the almost monochromatic look and feel of this one. I have other versions where the lighthouse is completely silhouetted, but I preferred this one where I think enough detail is maintained to show a glimpse of why this classic lighthouse exists – the jagged rocks that it stands on.

6 thoughts on “As the sun goes down…

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Bill. Click on the “Bass Harbor” tag on the right and you’ll see it photographed in different ways and in different seasons.

I'd love to hear from you...

