Jordan Pond, Acadia National Park

Standard

Jordan Pond is one of those places that never seems to get my full attention… it always seems to be somewhere I visit AFTER spending first light at another spectacular Acadia location such as Cadillac, Thunder Hole, or Otter Cliffs. One of these days though I’m going to make this scene the focus of my photo-expedition, and maybe I’ll be able to parlay the superb foreground rocks and the awesome views across the pond toward The Bubbles into a really cool photograph.

The wind was whipping across Jordan Pond as I set my tripod up to make this photograph, and I really liked how it’s effect on the water complimented the earthy tones of the blue sky, the green mountain slopes, and the rugged granite boulders. You really do have an almost unlimited array of rocks strewn along the shoreline to choose from for your foreground, and the famous and instantly recognizable shape of the Bubbles at the far end of the pond make for a nice backdrop. In black and white or color… this is a scene that I keep coming back to.

12 thoughts on “Jordan Pond, Acadia National Park

  1. I like the black and white one. I am curious to see how it would look taking two exposures… one taken at a fast speed of around 160 (so you can the clouds nice and crisp) then another one at around 25 seconds… to get the misty feel of the water… combine the two and see what you get.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Chad. I thought the black and white turned out well too. I like your idea of different exposures and then combining them – but to do that I would have to remember to use the 6 stop ND filter that I have – I keep forgetting 🙂

    • David Patterson

      Thanks. I’m obviously a little biased, but Acadia is absolutely gorgeous, and definitely a place to spend time in.

  2. I’ve stood beside others taking the same scene as myself and have been quite surprised at how different were the photos of the very same scene, when viewed afterwards.
    In that light, I’ll say this; To point and click is fine and all but a talent or a gift is required to allow the subject stand out. What I’m saying I suppose is that an ordinary everyday scene is transformed only through the application of true talent.
    You see far better than perhaps you realise.
    The B&W shot above is superb.

    • David Patterson

      Thank you for the thoughtful comment (and kind words). I too have been amazed at how different people see different things when looking over the same scene. I guess we all have our own tendencies, and that’s OK… after all, what fun would it be if we all made the same photographs?

  3. Love the water and sky in your photos, the rocks in foreground give the whole scene an anchor, i am going to try your perspective in my next photo session on the North Shore of Lake Superior, thanks MJ

    • David Patterson

      MJ… thanks and good luck on your next photo session. I would love to see the Great Lakes… must be beautiful.

I'd love to hear from you...

