A rabbit hole of dark yumminess…

Standard

As some of you may remember, I recently purchased a copy of Nik Software’s Silver Efex, a pretty awesome tool for digitally converting photographs to black and white. And in case you hadn’t noticed, more and more colorless photographs seem to be making their way onto the blog these days.

In fact, I have become quite fascinated with this new (to me) world of black and white photography, and even though I sort of feel as if I’m taking a shortcut – I haven’t even once touched a piece of film in a wet lab – I can’t seem to get enough of this medium.

What started out as merely de-saturating a color photograph has quickly and uncontrollably evolved into an infatuation with interpreting a scene differently, creating a mood that no colors could ever convey. I’m on a slippery slope, sliding into a pool of black ink… falling down a rabbit hole of dark yumminess.

Stop me when I go too far 🙂

10 thoughts on “A rabbit hole of dark yumminess…

  1. Welcome to the rabbit hole… I’m glad I stopped by to see what you’re up to these days.

    Beautiful work David. Many photographers shy away from using pure black, and the results are often lacking in strength and impact. You don’t appear to be afraid of black, and the results are very powerful and moving. Good stuff.

    • David Patterson

      Great to hear from you PJ, and thanks. I love the darker tones of this type of image, so I don’t think there’ll be any reluctance on my part to leverage them.

I'd love to hear from you...

