Only Mad Dogs and Englishmen…

Standard

… go out in the midday sun.

I’m neither…  but I was thinking about that phrase/song as I explored the shoreline at Sand Beach in Acadia National Park recently. I got a later than normal start to this particular day, and although some might say it isn’t worth making photographs in the middle of the day and outside of the traditional “golden” hours, I would tend to disagree. You just have to look a little harder, and I have to admit, on this day I was thinking black and white all the way!

First of all, I was just happy to be here. It had rained for what felt like a solid week before this, and it was refreshing to feel the sun on my face and the wind in my hair… oops, scratch that last one. The sea breeze was almost cleansing, and though I would like to be able to say I felt the wind in my hair, I’ll have to settle for the warm sun on my face and the top of my almost bald head! It was dead low tide when I visited, but there was still some lively surf breaking onshore and some awesome textures in the sand as the rainwater tried to make its way from high to low. Me and my new wellies enjoyed being in the water at times, and I had a grand time chasing the waves and clouds.

17 thoughts on “Only Mad Dogs and Englishmen…

  1. Callme_Creamy

    I love how it still looks beautiful even in black and white. Such pictures are normally captured in colour but you have managed to bring out the beauty irregardless. I really love these pictures. 🙂

  2. David
    Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m from NY headed to Saudi and lived in Maine for several years. You have some great photo ops there in Maine. Enjoy the scenery.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Victor. I enjoyed exploring your blog, and thanks for the kind words. I am truly fortunate to live in Maine… I know just how beautiful it is here.

  3. I love how in the 3rd photo, the shape of the surf seems to mirror the shape the clouds, or vice-versa. For the record, it was 5 days, 6 hours, and 33 minutes of rain….or something like that! 🙂

I'd love to hear from you...

