OOB

Standard

On the way back home after school vacation week, we planned our return trip so we would have a chance to see Sam play his last rugby game of the spring in southern Maine. As we rolled across the state line we still had a couple of hours to kill, so we stopped off at a place that none of us remember visiting before… Old Orchard Beach. What a neat place!

The beach and not-yet-open pier were shrouded in fog, but the relatively warm temperatures made it feel like summer… almost! French fries with gravy (a favorite of mine) were ordered and devoured, and the local pizza we sampled wasn’t too bad either. We spent a ton of time and had a blast in the classic games arcade, and Jack was more than pleased with the prizes he traded his tickets for. I can’t imagine how crowded this place gets in the summer months, but one thing I am sure of…  it must be classic Americana.

I wandered in underneath the pier and found the structure below to be absolutely fascinating – I can see why it is a favorite haunt of local photographers. I spent a little time playing tag with the incoming waves trying to get further out under the pier without getting wet, and although I like the image above, I think this is definitely one of those places to return to with a tripod for some experimentation with longer exposures. Cool view, eh?

* Here’s the last in black and white…

22 thoughts on “OOB

  1. I’ve never been there either, in my previous drives from Pennsylvania to Bar Harbor, once I hit Maine, it’s “pedal to the medal”! Looks like a fun and quirky place, maybe good in the fall when the light angle changes? Oh yeah, and the crowds leave!

    • David Patterson

      I guess it depends on what you are looking for from Maine. As a kid I would probably have loved this place, but now? Give me Acadia in the fall any time 🙂

      • Me too! It’s why once I came to Bar Harbor and Acadia, I never went back to an Eastern Shore Beach. Flat, crowded, noisy, stinky boardwalks – overpriced (bad) food. Thanks, but no thanks. I imagine July and August are gonna stress me here – I’ll be ready for those “tourists” to leave!!

  2. Fog always makes beautiful photos and I love the last one under the pier, it’s quite something ! I can imagine all the beautiful photos you would take there with your tripod.
    I hope you will return !
    A lot of people from where I live, St-Georges de Beauce, Quebec, spend their summer vacation in OOB, it’s a classic destination for many many Quebecers.

    • David Patterson

      You are very welcome. Funny… because it felt like we were back in the 50’s when we visited. I guess some things never change 🙂

  3. I love these images. Brings back memories of beach trips when I was growing up. Long piers, wanting to explore underneath, feeling the sand being undermined by receding waves. And water views – I always love them.

I'd love to hear from you...

