And now back to our regularly scheduled programming…

Standard

I had been on a black and white kick before the Supermoon phenomenon and my experiments in focus-stacking, but now that those are behind me, it’s time for some more black and whites. These two photographs were made earlier in the evening of the Supermoon – one is obviously the iconic and spectacular Boulder Beach below Otter Cliffs, and the other is from the side of Cadillac Mountain looking down toward Bar Harbor and the Porcupine Islands. The clearing skies and recognizable shapes had me immediately thinking that these two scenes might be good candidates for converting into black and whites. Actually, as I post-processed these images, I didn’t even generate a color version of either.

Yikes… methinks I am becoming obsessed 😉

11 thoughts on “And now back to our regularly scheduled programming…

  1. Hi David,
    I’ve been following a similar trend. There are black and white photos evrywhere! I also just recemtly converted a camera to infrared. That is now becoming another obsession.
    Cheers!
    Lizz Bartlett

  2. This reminds me of what my wife does with value studies in water color. She will sketch a painting in black and white and grey to understand the value of each section. Then she will sketch the entire painting in only black and white to see where the shapes merge and shadows fall. She says color gets the praise, but value does the work! Though you color photos are spectacular, your black and white photos really demonstrate where the essential elements are.

I'd love to hear from you...

