Raven’s Nest

Standard

6:45 p.m. - 17 minutes before sunset

It is very easy to miss an amazing little stretch of Schoodic that is tucked away out of sight – unless you know where it is of course. Previously oblivious to its location, I have driven by an area known as the Raven’s Nest many times, but with a bit of sleuthing by Chad Tracey, directions were obtained and a visit planned. Ever since a recent trip to Schoodic, I can’t seem to get the place out of my mind. Feeling restless, and not having the patience to wait for the weekend, I hopped in the car mid-week and made the trek to the coast.

A short walk through a gnarly and wind-sculpted forest brings you quite quickly to this rather dramatic overlook. The NPS doesn’t seem to publicize this location, and I can sort of see why. Though some care has obviously been taken in the curation of the thin trail around the craggy headland, this place definitely isn’t for the faint of heart, and I certainly wouldn’t bring my kid here. Tree roots and coarse vegetation – both interested in snagging your every step – abound all along a narrow trail which is at times mere inches from a precipitous fall. I’m not so good with heights and taking risks, so let’s just say I was leaning heavily to one side with my center of gravity pretty low as I explored this gorgeous area!

There are many more compositions to discover in this one tiny part of Schoodic, so this is a place I will definitely be returning to. The two images in this post are from just before, and just after, the last light of the day. In the first, warm light on the classic Acadia granite before sunset was truly remarkable, and despite the absence of any clouds, I loved the view and especially the color reflected onto the ocean. With the horizon so clear, I was hoping to capture the subtle colors of the earth shadow in the second image, but instead, as the night rolled in I settled for some incredibly deep blues. I’d love to hear your thoughts on both of these…

7:32 p.m. - 30 minutes after sunset

32 thoughts on “Raven’s Nest

  1. claude

    The after sunset shot is a treasure! See it is possible to take great photographs other than lighthouses and rocky shorelines.

    More mid week trips!

    • David Patterson

      Thanks. I was pleasantly surprised to be so high up along this shoreline, and I agree… the elevation does bring another dimension to the scene.

  2. Man you sure do know how to capture someones imagination with your words my friend, well written indeed but i must say either way the photo was well worth it considering the view. This is a classic shot indeed, excellent work as usual buddy -,o

    http://wp.me/2aAA8

    • David Patterson

      Seriously? It would definitely be worth spending some time exploring around here, though methinks a kayak might have been involved with accessing that rocky little beach 😉

  3. In line with an earlier comment, I love how this vertical composition draws me from the rocks, to the bright middle cliff, to the second shore line and finally out to sea. The earlier image departs a feeling of warmth and happiness. The feeling I get from the second, taken after sunset, is satisfaction. I can imagine being there feeling the cool air, listening to the sounds of silent solitude, smelling the clear air and happy with having been there … intimate with nature!

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Russ… I definitely enjoyed spending time here, first as the sun bathed the cliffs, and then later as darkness fell. This is an incredibly peaceful place to spend time, and one that I thoroughly enjoyed photographing.

I'd love to hear from you...

