I like this photograph

Standard

We all have our favorite photographs, though I would hazard a guess that just because I like this one, it doesn’t necessarily mean that anyone else will find it special. That’s OK, because as photographers – and I believe that we can all call ourselves photographers – we should be creating images that we like… making connections with nature for ourselves, and not necessarily trying to please anyone else. Don’t get me wrong, I love that I am able to share my adventures here on this blog with a wonderful group of people, most of whom I have never actually met. I genuinely appreciate all of your support though, and when someone expresses that they like one of my photographs it is exceptionally humbling, so thank you.

Back to the photograph…what makes it all the more surprising that I like this one so much is that when I made it the weather pretty much stunk, as did the quality of the light. So why then is this a favorite of mine? It’s a favorite because on this particular morning I proudly refrained from hitting the snooze button on my alarm as I have been prone to doing lately. It’s a favorite because I simply love to be near the Atlantic Ocean, and because this is Acadia National Park and Otter Cliffs, where I like to be. It’s a favorite because when I look at it I can feel the cold rain and spray on my face, my head is filled with smells only found along the edge of the ocean, and I can hear the round rocks rolling and knocking together musically as the tide pushes and pulls, continuing the process that has shaped this landscape for thousands, if not millions, of years. That’s why this is now a favorite of mine.

33 thoughts on “I like this photograph

    • David Patterson

      Thanks. The weather conditions dictated that this was definitely going to be a bit darker than the usual sunrise photograph.

  1. I like the title of this blog post! And I like the photograph too, because it’s also one of my favorite places. Specifically, what I like is that the action of the wave really feels like its pulling the water back. And kudos to you for not hitting the snooze button!

    • David Patterson

      I love the foreground in this photograph, and I can almost hear the rocks being pulled back toward the ocean by the retreating wave.

  2. I’m very happy for you, David…as happy as I can be for a person I only know through what we have shared in this medium. Your words resonate with me…deeply.

    And I rather like the photographs, too. 🙂

    Thank you.

    • David Patterson

      Of course I am a little biased, but there is no more beautiful place on the planet than Acadia. If you do decide to visit this part of the world, I’m sure you will enjoy what you see.

  3. Oh I really like this one too. The second one has that subtle green hue in the wave that tells me it’s March. I love how you expressed yourself in this post too. To me you always capture the very essence of Acadia and perhaps part of that is because of the conditions you shoot in. ~Lili

    • David Patterson

      Lili… thanks. I have been on a black and white kick lately, and although I really like that version of this photograph, I can’t stop looking at the subtle green in the breaking wave.

  4. I love to hear the different ways people express how they connect with nature. You express it well. I have done some very amature photography, but I like it. I look forward to my next adventure when I can find the time. I am not privilaged to live by the ocean, so I just walk around the different creeks. I am also very fond of watching the clouds and sunsets. I am not too much of a morning person, but I would like to see more sunrises too. I can image that you find the morning hours rewarding, am I right?
    Well, I have to get out and buy a camera!!

    • David Patterson

      Stephen… I am very lucky to live so close to the ocean. While iIt might not be easy to get up early, it is definitely worth the effort. There’s nothing like watching the sun come up over the horizon – especially when along the ocean shore.

  5. Me to love the Atlantic ocean, but from the other side you’re watching her (Europe) dow I love the mountains whit there glaciers and forests even more, just as I love the Ardennes (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ardennes) in Belgium, only one hour and a half driving from Antwerp. So I completely understand your love for this photo as much as I understand the feeling by watching this natures miracles.
    By the way : it just is a photograph to like.

    Some of my photographs of Switserland and the Ardennes if you like:
    https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=16A7DE4970132403&id=16A7DE4970132403%211814&sc=photos

    https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=16A7DE4970132403&id=16A7DE4970132403%211814&sc=photos#cid=16A7DE4970132403&id=16A7DE4970132403%21504&sc=photos

    https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=16A7DE4970132403&id=16A7DE4970132403%211814&sc=photos#cid=16A7DE4970132403&id=16A7DE4970132403%212846&sc=photos

    https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=16A7DE4970132403&id=16A7DE4970132403%211814&sc=photos#cid=16A7DE4970132403&id=16A7DE4970132403%212471&sc=photos

    The places I like most.

    Grz. Mark Mendonck

    ps. my excuses for my poor English cause I’m Flemish

    • David Patterson

      Mark… thanks. You have some beautiful photographs from the other side of the pond – thanks for the comment and for sharing.

  6. David, I love what you wrote here. So much of it is about the experience of being there.
    I like this photograph too!
    There are times the shrouded light brings a different quality to an image that I find very stirring.

  7. localbonnie

    This is so beautiful! I love what you did here with the water. It looks so dreamy and silky… very inspirational and captivating. I wish I could put y finger on what it is about a shore like this but I guess you just have to be there to know right? =) Great work.

    • David Patterson

      Bonnie… hopefully I was able to capture some of what it was like to be there in the photograph… thanks for the kind words.

  8. I love that you said all of us can call ourselves photographers, even though some people, like you, have an incredibly special talent for capturing scenes in a magical way. For those of us, like myself, who lack that magical part, it makes me appreciate the beauty of your work even more.

    • David Patterson

      I firmly believe that we all can – and should – call ourselves photographers. The most important thing is to get out with the camera and enjoy making photographs. Thanks for the kind words.

  9. Agreed David. For me some of my favourite photographs aren’t necessarily because the phpto itself is great but the journey in actually getting to the destination and taking the photo which made it my favourite.

I'd love to hear from you...

