Pop Tarts and Mountain Dew

Standard

I know Wheaties are considered the breakfast of champions, but for me when I go out early on a photography adventure… it’s Pop Tarts and Mountain Dew. When you start the day at early o’clock, drive an hour and a half to get to your chosen location before sunrise, and then spend another couple of hours immersed in photographing the landscape, it’s no surprise that the belly starts to grumble. By the time I take a break from shooting, it’s probably close to 9:00 a.m. – that’s a good five hours I’ve already put in, and since I never plan ahead and bring any real food, that’s when those Pop Tarts and that Mountain Dew taste so good.

I have been itching to get out with the camera again, and despite the snow/ice/rain mix we have been having lately, I set my alarm for 4:00am this morning. The forecast at sunrise was for partly cloudy skies, and this coincided quite nicely with the scheduled high tide. I figured if I got skunked with the clouds and light, I would at least be able to focus on the surf along the Loop Road. The photograph above is a little deceiving in that immediately to the right out of the frame there was a huge bank of clouds which almost completely ruined the sunrise. My original plan had actually been to shoot in the other direction along the coast toward Otter Cliffs, but I soon realized that my best chance at something interesting was going to be looking back the other way where there was a relatively small window of nice light in the background.

In an attempt to render some motion in the lively surf, I experimented with shutter speeds of between half a second and several seconds. I liked how the power of the waves is still somewhat visible, but at the same time the longer exposure creates an ethereal effect on the moving water. This is looking toward Sand Beach from the rocky ledges just to the left of Thunder Hole in Acadia National Park.

35 thoughts on “Pop Tarts and Mountain Dew

  1. wanderingseniors

    I wish I could take photos like this, but I never took a class and I wouldn’t have the patience to wait for the perfect shot. So… I’ll just enjoy your photos and call it a day.

    • David Patterson

      There’s nothing like hanging out on the rocks in Acadia at times like these… don’t be giving up 🙂

    • David Patterson

      There’s a special time during the transition from night into day when the light on the rocks seems to glow. Well worth getting up for!

  2. Again, I am so impressed with your work. The textures you captured are wonderful. The only thing better than your photo must be being there. I love the water color combined with white foam, and contrasting with the texture and color of the cliffs.

    And pop tarts. They’re good cold, but amazing when warm. I love them, but my wife doesn’t buy them, and I couldn’t endure her tacit disapproval if I brought them home. So, my only opportunity to eat them cold occasionally. On the sly…

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Rick. Being there is pretty special, and something that I never get tired of. As for those pop tarts… ah, sugary goodness 🙂

  3. Not sure that I’ll ever get the pleasure of visiting your beautiful area so I will thank you for sharing it with everyone! I really enjoy your photography and very much appreciate your efforts to combine Mother Natures natural beauty with your experience in getting just the right moment to forever enjoy.

    • David Patterson

      Monument Cove is one of my favorite places. You used to be able to get down from the ocean path via a rocky chute, but it has been closed off to avoid erosion. I think the only way down now is by climbing over the rocks on either side. Well worth it though if you can manage it 🙂

I'd love to hear from you...

