Pressed nice and fresh!

Standard

Regular readers of this blog might have noticed a little spike in the number of comments posted recently. Let me explain…

On Friday I published the last in a four-part retrospective mini-series about a trip I made out west a few years back. Like many northerners this time of year, I had been suffering from an annual bout of winter-induced cabin fever, and my main goal with that little series was really just to remind myself of warmer times and help get me closer to the springtime. Besides, the 9 degree farenheit bone-chilling temperatures over the weekend here in Maine meant I didn’t have any new and original photographs to share!

I was working from home on Friday when I started noticing a slew of email notifications from the blog flying into my gmail account. Since this wasn’t the first time I had been freshly pressed, I figured out fairly quickly what had likely happened. I wandered over to the WordPress home page and sure enough, there it was… a photograph from my most recent post… Back into the Valley of Death …pressed nice and fresh!

From the WP folks about Freshly Pressed: “Each weekday, we hand-pick and promote approximately ten new blog posts to the Freshly Pressed section of the WordPress.com homepage. These posts represent how WordPress.com can be used to entertain, enlighten or inspire.”

My email box was pretty busy over the weekend, and a quick check of my stats page indicates that since last Friday alone at about 10:00 a.m. when the fresh pressing actually occurred, there have been close to 17,000 new views on this blog! And since so many people were kind enough to take the time to comment on my blog, I felt that it was only right that I reply to them… believe me, that’s a lot of replies 🙂

Anyhoo… it’s Tuesday evening now, and as my blog slides off the WordPress front page the frenzied pace of site views and email notifications has slowed somewhat, I can finally take a deep breath and relax. It has been a fun weekend though, and before resuming our normal programming here on the blog, I wanted to say a big thank you to everyone for their very kind and generous words.

Thank You!

20 thoughts on “Pressed nice and fresh!

  1. I hope that you’ve warmed up substantially from the outpouring of appreciate for your beautiful pictures. Living here in the west I sometimes take for granted the beauty of our mountains and desert… until I fly back home from the east coast and the Rockies are reaching to the sky to welcome me back “home”.

    I look forward to seeing more of your pictures! Thank you for sharing them with us. 🙂

    • David Patterson

      Nanette… thanks. I enjoyed wandering around your blog. You live in a beautiful part of the world, and the photographs from your New Zealand trip are awesome.

      • Thank you! Seems like we can have a mutual appreciation of each others photography. 🙂

        I’m going to be trying to get a few more posts done soon… the “prettiest” parts are yet to come! I’ll be posting our trip into the Southern Alps, with Mt. Cook, the Milford Sound and Queenstown as soon as I can carve out a few hours to get the photos together. May have to wait until next week though at this point. :-/

  2. Congrats! I bet your followers increased substantially too. I don’t remember when I added you, whether it was that post or one I’d seen before… but either way, I loved the Death Valley photos!

    • David Patterson

      Karl… thanks. Followers jumped way up too!

      I enjoyed exploring your blog and photographs, especially the ones from Africa, and more recently, Yosemite. Couldn’t find the “comment” button or I would have dropped you a note.

  3. I was just reading a Gary Vaynerchuk’s book titled “Crush It” which talks about the importance social media has become to a companies need to keep connected with their customer base. At the time he says he was still personally answering every email he gets. Kudos to you David.

    • David Patterson

      David… thanks. Sounds like a good read… so often today we take things like people’s time for granted. Since my blog is more of a personal endeavor, I see the immediate value of interacting with the folks who take the time to comment. However, I can’t imagine the investment needed by large companies wanting to connect with their customers using social media. Adds a new spin to customer service for sure.

I'd love to hear from you...

