Schooner Head, Acadia National Park

Standard

A winding path with a couple of gentle switchbacks meanders down from the overlook at Schooner Head to some of the more rugged and dramatic Acadia shoreline that you can find in the park. The wind was absolutely howling as I explored this somewhat precarious area, and as I carefully peeked over the cliff, I admired the power of the waves crashing below. This photograph doesn’t do it justice, but the color of the Atlantic on this particular day was a deep, almost Caribbean-like green, topped by a layer of fast-moving,¬†frothing whitecaps.

Wandering back up through the forest with trees stripped of leaves, I came across a neat little scene that immediately screamed at me to photograph it. Not in the traditional way though… I switched to TV mode on my camera and selected a shutter speed of half a second. I let the camera decide what aperture would give me a correct exposure, and I started moving the camera through the scene. The colors and lines are of course what initially drew me here, and as always, I personally really dig how this kind of photograph turns out. Luckily the parking lot was empty, and I didn’t have to worry about people giving me those quizzical stares as I waved my camera up and down!

2 thoughts on “Schooner Head, Acadia National Park

  1. Kieran Hamilton

    I love both of these shots, especially how different they are. I think that’s a technique I’ll have to try sometime, but also when there’s no one else about!

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Kieran. Be prepared for some weird looks when you start moving the camera side to side or up and down. Having said that, there is a lot of fun to be had by using this technique, so funny stares or not, I’m going to keep doing it!

I'd love to hear from you...

