I am not a wildlife photographer

Standard

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy nature and all of her bounty, but when it comes to making photographs of wild animals, I just don’t have much experience (or the gear). So when a young moose cow wandered out from the woods while we were enjoying a gorgeous afternoon picnic at Sandy Stream Pond in Baxter State Park, I felt a little out of my depth.

Luckily I had my 70-200mm f4 lens with me, but if ever I was going to have the need for a longer lens, then this would have been the day. I bumped my iso up and opened up the aperture so that I could get a decently quick shutter speed – it wasn’t that the moose was moving fast – quite the contrary – but rather because I was hand holding a relatively heavy camera and longish lens, and I wanted to be able to get a decently sharp photograph without camera shake.

We watched this beauty sunning herself on the edge of the pond for about 10 minutes before she deemed it safe to venture out into the cooler water. There were huge numbers of flies buzzing around her, and I cannot imagine the relief she must have felt when she first dunked her head under the water.

She would stay underwater for about 20 seconds at a time, surfacing with a mouthful of some kind of weed that she obviously enjoyed eating. The local ranger newsletter said that moose can eat up to 100lbs of food per day, and as we marveled at how our moose foraged on the pond floor, it wasn’t hard to see how she might meet that target. Isn’t she a beauty?

7 thoughts on “I am not a wildlife photographer

    • David Patterson

      We must have spent close to an hour watching her… it was absolutely mesmerizing to be so close to such a beautiful, gentle animal in her natural habitat.

  1. You shouldn’t complain about those…..they are great! Has to be wild just seeing a moose….don’t have any around here, just deer, rabbits, & raccoons!

    • David Patterson

      Thanks… I have been lucky enough to have seen quite a few of them – usually while driving though which isn’t a good thing 😉

  2. You have taken outstanding photographs. After seeing your photographs, for me it is not important to know about your photography knowledge. I really enjoyed and lucky too see these photographs. Thanks for sharing.

I'd love to hear from you...

