Still water on Bubble Pond

Standard

This little pond has become one of my favorite places to visit, and after spending the pre-dawn at Otter Cliffs, I shared it with my photographer friend Josh. Nestled between Pemetic Mountain (1,248 feet), and Cadillac Mountain (1,532 feet), Bubble Pond is a glaciated valley that is now home to a beautiful and pristine pond. Using a circular polarizer, I was able to eliminate some – but not all – of the reflections from the crystal clear pond water allowing views of the rocky bottom. The polarizer also removed the glare of the early-morning light from the trees hugging the rugged shoreline, and it enhanced the definition in the clouds. The intermittent sunshine breaking through the clouds made the scene come alive, and I was really attracted to how still the water was. Isn’t this place gorgeous?

6 thoughts on “Still water on Bubble Pond

    • David Patterson

      Lili… thanks. Agreed on the impact of the far end of the pond… and when you can get a nice reflection you get double for your money!

  1. Kieran Hamilton

    Beautiful pics, I think you’ve got the perfect balance of reflection to clarity there. Been wanting a polariser for a while, now I REALLY want one!

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Kieran. I played with the polarizer a bit to try to maintain some of the reflection but still reduce the glare. I think a polarizer is probably the one filter that I find indispensable… so many typical filter effects can be achieved in post-processing, but the impact of the polarizer is pretty special.

  2. Gorgeous covers only half of it! I mean wow! absolutely amazing shots!! Although “Pemetic Mountain (1,248 feet), and Cadillac Mountain (1,532 feet)” doesn’t really mean anything to me, I don’t think it’s anywhere near where I live, ha ha 😉

I'd love to hear from you...

