A new view of Acadia…

Standard

…for me that is.

I have been meaning to explore the granite ledges along the Loop Road more fully for a while now. When in this area, I usually spend time closer to where Monument Cove and Otter Cliffs dominate the scenery, but on my most recent visit I wandered off the main path and I think I found a new spot. Actually this is so close to the road that I am almost embarrassed to say that I haven’t been here before :}

The Loop Road from Sand Beach to Otter Cliffs pretty much runs north/south, so when the sun first crests over the eastern horizon in the morning, it hits the rugged granite coastline and lights it up like you wouldn’t believe. The high ledge I was standing on to make these photographs was quite intimidating, but the impressive view looking south toward Otter Cliffs was what really caught my attention.

Depending on how close you want to get to the edge, this new spot (new for me at least) offers many compositional possibilities, and while these images were made in the late afternoon with rather unflattering light, I couldn’t help but get excited about returning here sometime soon to catch early light on what is a truly remarkable stretch of coastline… preferably on a morning when there are some interesting clouds and big, dramatic surf 🙂

4 thoughts on “A new view of Acadia…

  1. Hello, I just want you to know how happy I was to have found your site. Your photos are just wonderful. My husband and I are going to Bar Harbor next weekend for my birthday and now I really can’t wait to get there.

  2. David Patterson

    Karen… thanks for the kind words. Early Happy Birthday, and I hope you enjoy your upcoming visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia!

I'd love to hear from you...

