Back to a favorite place

Standard

I haven’t been down to Acadia for sunrise in a couple of weeks, so when a friend started talking over dinner about possibly making an early visit, I immediately jumped at the chance to return. He couldn’t recall ever having experienced this part of the world before dawn, so I figured what better way to introduce him to the splendor of an Acadian sunrise than by visiting one of my all-time favorite places… Monument Cove.

Cloudless skies offered a beautiful soft gradient on the far horizon, and the rising sun bathed the rugged granite wall of the cove in warm, glowing light. The orchestra of round rocks at the ocean’s edge did their familiar thing, knocking and rolling as the waves washed ashore, treating us to the musical sound of their rhythmic movements. We both agreed that the 3:30am start was worth it, and I think it is safe to say that my bud was impressed with the show and is excited to return for more. For me personally, it’s always good to return to a favorite place… especially one as beautiful as this.

6 thoughts on “Back to a favorite place

    • David Patterson

      Greg… thanks. As much fun as it is to explore new places, there’s something special about returning to a place that you are familiar with.

  1. Ahhhhh yes, so lovely. I didn’t know the name of Monument Cove, but I’m guessing it’s nearby Otter Cliffs? You have convinced me that I must make it a point to go there at daybreak before tourist season hits. ~Lili

    • David Patterson

      Lili… Monument Cove is between Thunder Hole and Otter Cliffs, almost directly opposite the parking lot for the Gorham Mountain Trail. It isn’t easy to get down to the shore, but it is definitely worth the scramble. As long as you plan on being here at sunrise you aren’t likely to see too many people… even in the height of tourist season.

I'd love to hear from you...

