Spring is on the way!

Standard


This has been a very long and snowy winter here in Maine, and the additional 10 inches we just received on April Fool’s Day must surely have brought this season’s total up way beyond the average? As I sit here looking out through the window on what is a bright and sunny afternoon, I can’t help wondering when this year’s snow will all be gone, and when spring will truly arrive?

At this time of year we get a glimpse of spring every now and then, though more often than not it’s just a tease, with winter-like weather rolling in right behind it. Winter in Maine is much like winter in many other parts of the world… it is cold, dark and snowy. Our winters seem to linger for an extra couple of weeks though, and at this time of the year it feels like an eternity. The dirty, melting snow hangs on for dear life reminding us that it might not be finished with us yet, and the leaves on the trees seem to be holding their breath and waiting as long as they can before returning to bring life back to what is for now a dull, brown and almost lifeless landscape.

As one way of combating the winter blues, we have planted tons and tons of tulips around the house. Our hope was that their colorful arrival might help us make it through what is often a slow and reluctant transition to spring. The tulips in the photograph above were from April 22 last spring, though based on the amount of snow we still have on the ground today, I doubt if we will have a similar show by the same date this year. Here’s hoping though…

4 thoughts on “Spring is on the way!

  1. Summer has officially arrived in Florida. 92 degrees today! I’m thankful my brother lives in an apartment complex with a refreshing pool. (In Upper Michigan, I used to walk to the lake on opening day – usually Memorial Day weekend – with melting snow and slush on the ground. I would swim to my little heart’s content, not because I was hot but because I was allowed to. 7 months of winter makes you do crazy things when the thaw comes.)

    • David Patterson

      Dena… 92 degrees, eh? As much as I look forward to the warmer weather, I can’t say I envy you for that kind of temperature. Looks like we are definitely heating up around here though… only another month or so before we get some leaves on the trees 🙂

I'd love to hear from you...

