Devenish Island

Standard

From an older post on my blog… this location is on the shores of Lough Erne in County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland. After graduating from college, I spent two wonderful years teaching close by here in Enniskillen, though during my time there I unfortunately did not take full advantage of the scenery around me.

Any time I return home to Ireland though, I try to rectify this by exploring what is an amazingly beautiful landscape. Looking across the waters of the lough you can see the island of Devenish, home to the ruins of a monastic settlement that dates back to the 6th century, and a 100 ft tall round tower that dates back to the 12th century. Over the centuries, many cultures have visited and touched this island, leaving behind evidence of what were often thriving and vital communities.

I got lucky when I stumbled on this boat on the shoreline… it made for a really nice foreground element on what was a beautiful summer evening.

2 thoughts on “Devenish Island

I'd love to hear from you...

