Backing up and into things…

Standard

I found an old external hard drive this afternoon that I hadn’t seen for a while. I haven’t used this drive for at least a couple of years, so it was like finding treasure as I went through the contents. There were lots of family photographs, all of the images from our last trip to Ireland in 2006, and many, many original raw files from regular visits to my favorite place… Acadia National Park.

I eagerly backed everything up (again) onto one of my newer, higher-capacity drives, and while I waited for files to copy, I took a few moments to explore some of the almost forgotten photographs. Technology, and my ability to use it to process raw files has improved considerably since 2006, so I decided to take a run at re-processing some of the photographs that I found.

Both of these photographs are from a very peaceful and solitary July morning spent in Monument Cove. In the pre-dawn light I had just scampered down onto the rocks, and was heading over to my intended target of the round rocks and crashing surf when I glanced over my shoulder and saw the scene above. Needless to say I stopped, set up my camera, and tried to record what I was seeing. This was a good lesson in making sure you always look behind you when in special conditions. The photograph below is what I had originally envisioned shooting that morning… a great way to start the day.

I am glad that I stumbled on this old hard drive so I could recover and back up these images in a more stable and secure way. This was a little bit of a wake up call, and I realize that my next step will be to go back through my even older collection of DVD archives (yikes!) to see if I can’t organize and back them up in some sort of manageable order. As I work on this archiving process, who knows… perhaps I will run into more photographs from the past that I can share.

4 thoughts on “Backing up and into things…

  1. I am enjoying your photographs immensely David. Your captures of Acadia are literally breathtaking. So glad you came across these, it would have been a shame to lose them. ~Lili

I'd love to hear from you...

