Printed and framed

Standard

I know how expensive it can be to have a photograph custom-framed, so instead of spending big bucks this time, I took the less expensive route and decided to do it myself. Our local AC Moore store recently had large frames on sale, so when I found a 24 x 36 black frame for $30, I couldn’t resist. I bought a large piece of foam core to mount the photograph on and a can of adhesive spray – little did I know what I was getting myself into!

In the photograph above my phone provides some scale as to just how big a 24×36 sized photograph really is…. now all I needed was a wall large enough to handle something like this! I had decided to send this photograph to an online printer where I could choose to have it printed on metallic paper, and the results were fantastic. With tiny flecks of metal actually infused into the process, the metallic paper has a special shine which gives the scene an almost 3D look to it. As I mentioned in an earlier post, the detail rendered by the Canon 5D MKII is very impressive, so when looking at this scene on the wall it almost feels as though you are looking through a window to Acadia!

Being in Acadia on that particular morning and making the photograph as I did was a process in itself, as was processing and preparing it for printing… but nothing prepared me for the next stage… the mounting, framing, and hanging of something like this has its own set of unique challenges. Getting the print to adhere to the foam core smoothly and without wrinkles/bubbles wasn’t easy. Framing the mounted print under the glass without dust getting in the way – again and again and again and again – wasn’t easy. Hanging and leveling a mounted, framed print this size wasn’t easy, and now that it is on display, I wish I had considered the impact of light reflecting off normal glass. Despite my frustrations, I love seeing this photograph printed and framed, though let’s just say that I now have a much better appreciation of the work that a professional framer does, and perhaps next time I will have someone who knows what they are doing take care of it!

2 thoughts on “Printed and framed

  1. Oh that looks so gorgeous on your wall! That really must have been a chore to try and mount it on the foam core. I know how hard it is to decoupage and get the wrinkles out, I can only imagine the level of frustration worrying about messing up such a lovely print such as this. ~Lili

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Lili… I have to admit I had some frustrations with the process, but in the end I was pleased how it turned out.

I'd love to hear from you...

