Marshall Point Lighthouse Museum

Standard

The Marshall Point Lighthouse Museum occupies the first floor of the light keeper’s house seen in this image. I’m not entirely sold on the wide angle distortion that you can see in the warped shape of the building, but as I experimented with long exposures, I liked how the soft light was reflecting in the windows, the amazing foreground details in the rocks, and the classic New England architecture of the lighthouse keeper’s house perched on this rocky point.

I spent a considerable amount of time exploring what are really remarkable rock formations surrounding this picturesque area, and by the time I finished shooting I was absolutely starving. Heading south a short way on US Route 1, I paid a memorable visit to the famous “Moody’s Diner” where I enjoyed some of the best corn chowder I have ever had, followed by a ridiculously big and delicious slice of home-made banana cream pie!

Highly recommended 🙂

4 thoughts on “Marshall Point Lighthouse Museum

  1. My eyes were immediately drawn to that incredible rock formation and then I admit I kinda of grinned when I noticed the wonky building. Having never been there before, I was glad to learn of the reason for the distortion! You’ve convinced me that this is a “must visit” place with your captures. And your stop at Moody’s Diner sounds perfect too! ~Lili

    • David Patterson

      Lili… thanks. Those rocks were quite something, and I wanted to convey how striking they were. Definitely worth a visit!

  2. Ben Horne

    You’re really doing some great work with your 17-40mm lens on the 5DII. The wide angle perspective really sucks my eye into this scene. Although I do notice the wide angle distortion, it doesn’t really bother me. If anything, it enhances the “impossible” placement of that house in such a seemingly inhospitable environment.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Ben. I just have to be careful not to go crazy with the wide angle look every time I am out! I do like being able to accentuate certain scenes though, and am having a blast with the new camera.

I'd love to hear from you...

