Snowy Otter Cliffs

Standard

I have been itching to get out with the camera again lately, so I decided to visit one of my favorite places and see if I could capture some snow blanketing the famous round rocks below Otter Cliffs. An early start this morning got me here about 45 minutes before the sun was scheduled to crest at 6:36am, and as always, I had the place completely to myself. Though the temperature was certainly chilly, there was little to no wind blowing, and since I was dressed in several layers, the 13F actually felt quite comfortable.

When the morning sun did eventually rise above the horizon, it bathed the granite coastline of Acadia in a beautiful, warm light, and I spent a good three hours shooting here. As I work through my stash from this morning, I will post more from what was a very productive and enjoyable visit. In the meantime, these were the first images I made this morning… pre-dawn at 6:11am (bottom image), and 6:18am (top image) on Sunday, February 13, 2011.

3 thoughts on “Snowy Otter Cliffs

  1. Such a lovely place to be so early in the morning. You’ve captured the quiet solitude so well. I always marvel at the lack of even local visitors in the winter to this paradise that we have right in our own backyards. I love seeing images that highlight the pristine snow against the rugged backdrop of Acadia. Can’t wait to see more of your 3 hour session! ~Lili

    • David Patterson

      Lili… thanks. To be honest I am not really a winter person, but when I have the itch to get out with the camera and Acadia is so close, I can’t resist. I had a great morning in my favorite park, and more pics are lined up for publishing over the next few days… thanks for the support!

I'd love to hear from you...

