Going home…

Standard

It’s official. The flights are booked. I’m going home 🙂

I’ve been thinking about Ireland a lot lately, but to date I haven’t been able to come up with a workable plan to visit… until now. Combining a holiday present for Sam and a way to scratch the itch I had to return, we will both be flying across the Atlantic later in the spring.

Sam has always been fascinated by his heritage, and if ever asked where he would like to travel to, without hesitation he usually chooses the country I was born in. I think he has been to Ireland a total of three times now, though the first was when he had just turned one year old, so that hardly counts. I can still remember the two of us making that flight home, with him spending a considerable amount of time in the trusty backpack as we did the rounds. I had wanted to get him home so that my aging parents would have a chance to meet him, and although he doesn’t recall anything from that visit, I am certainly glad we made the trip. Lori came on the next trip home when Sam was about eight years old, and five years ago we had the pleasure of introducing the somewhat newly minted Jack (2) to all of his distant relatives.

The photograph above is of Kinbane Castle, built in 1547 and located along the Antrim coast somewhere between the Giant’s Causeway and Ballintoy Harbor. Last time we were home, Sam and I had ventured out on this particular evening in search of some nice light. We had a great time exploring the little cove that this castle ruin rests in, and as the summer sun sank below the horizon we both enjoyed a really peaceful sunset. I think this was the first and last time we saw the sun on that 10-day visit to Ireland, but here’s hoping we will be a little bit luckier with the weather this time around!

4 thoughts on “Going home…

  1. That’s very exciting. My daughter wants so badly to visit Portugal one day. She is half-Portuguese from her father’s side.

    Can’t wait to hear the stories and see the photographs 🙂

    • David Patterson

      Ben… thanks. We have already started to seriously plan our time in Ireland and we will definitely be focusing on finding opportunities for photography. It is amazing how you don’t truly appreciate where you live until you move away, and I will be excited to have my (new) camera in hand on this adventure back home.

I'd love to hear from you...

