Bass Harbor Light, Acadia National Park

Standard

I have photographed this lighthouse in Acadia National Park many times, but I don’t think I have ever been there in the month of December. The weather was relatively mild for this time of year in Maine – mid 40’s – and apart from one other person wandering around the rocks, I had the place all to myself.

I had checked the weather forecast and it looked like a winter storm might be breaking just as the sun was scheduled to go down, so I jumped in the car and hurried down to Mount Desert Island anticipating a nice sunset. The wind was blowing pretty well, and off to my left the waves at low tide were crashing hard. Standing on the edge of the atlantic with such a remarkable view isn’t a bad way to spend some time.

I spent a couple of hours in this wonderful spot enjoying the view, and this first image was made about 20 minutes before sunset as I was waiting for the sun to dip below the thicker band of clouds that you can see on the horizon. Taking a moment to experiment, using my 6 stop neutral density filter I was able to reduce the amount of light reaching the sensor, thereby allowing for longer shutter speeds. I combined two exposures for this photograph… one for the foreground, and one of 21 seconds to catch the movement in the clouds.

I never get tired of being in Acadia with my camera, and this little lighthouse just begs to be photographed. I was happy to oblige 🙂

2 thoughts on “Bass Harbor Light, Acadia National Park

I'd love to hear from you...

