cadillac sunrise

Standard

From our weekend of camping… I set my alarm for 3:45am and tried to sneak out of the tent in the dark without waking everyone. As is usually the case, I was wide awake before the alarm even went off. Despite tripping over the lip of the tent door and almost taking a major spill, I think I was successful.

Sunrise in Maine comes early this time of year, and when you are perched on the highest mountain on the eastern seaboard it comes even earlier! Took me a while to get going, though as I drove across Mount Desert Island toward Cadillac Mountain I couldn’t help but appreciate that we were staying right there. If I had been leaving from home this would have made for a VERY early start.

Back home in Ireland we have the beautiful Mourne Mountains in County Down that sweep down to the sea, and at 1532 feet Cadillac Mountain too rises up from the ocean making it appear larger than it actually is. There were some hazy clouds on the eastern horizon that on the one hand obscured the sunrise, but on the other hand they helped diffuse the light creating some wonderful pink and purple hues. I plopped myself down on the slope of Cadillac and enjoyed the show. I especially liked how the early colors from the sky were absorbed by the foreground rocks, though after a few minutes the more familiar golden light began to bathe the summit. Not a bad way to start the day. The last image in this post just kind of grabbed me… something graphic about it that I really like.

6 thoughts on “cadillac sunrise

    • David Patterson

      Peyton… thanks. I am always drawn more to vertical compositions myself – I think it’s the wide-angle effect.

    • David Patterson

      David… thanks. I really appreciate the kind words, though on this morning I am sure there were many photographers who enjoyed capturing what was a wonderful sunrise in an amazing place!

  1. Hey Dave,

    Excellent series. Makes me drool thinking about October. One thing I will not miss about June is the EARLY sunrises. I’m an early bird but there are limits!

    • David Patterson

      Ed… thanks. I was lucky on this occasion because we were camping right next door, so I didn’t have to get up too early (if 3:45am isn’t too early!). At this time of year the sun sure does come early to these parts!

I'd love to hear from you...

