Jordan Pond Stream, Acadia NP

Standard

The sun comes up early in Maine this time of year, and I have to admit I have been struggling with leaving the house before 3:00am to get to the park in time for first light. In the past month there have been at least two aborted attempts where I sleep on the sofa and set my alarm for an early start. Both times I had fully intended to be on top of Cadillac when the sun first makes an appearance, but both times I rolled over and hit the snooze button.

Connecting my inability to rise early with my desire to check out some of the park’s carriage roads, bridges and streams, I recently had an opportunity to explore the area around the Jordan Pond House. The late morning conditions were perfect… overcast, damp and cool after a rainy night. The earthy tones all along the Jordan Pond Stream were saturated and lush, with the moisture from the previous night’s rains making the colors really pop. I could feel the freshness in the air, with the sights, smells and sounds all coming together for a wonderful morning hike. Though the water levels were quite low, all sorts of new growth was taking advantage of the recent warm temperatures we have had here in Maine and the signs of spring having sprung were all around!

2 thoughts on “Jordan Pond Stream, Acadia NP

    • David Patterson

      Thanks David. We have been experiencing a beautiful spring… just hoping the nice weather stays through the summer.

I'd love to hear from you...

