A Fresh-er Perspective

Standard

… at least for me it is.

After shooting the close-up of the round rocks that I posted earlier, I left my camera right were it was on the tripod and decided to more fully explore the little place that I love called Otter Cove, or Boulder Beach, in Acadia National Park.

As I wandered away from the shoreline toward the back of the cove, I came across a couple of old washed-up and rusted lobster traps, several gigantic but still perfectly smooth round rocks, and some fresh and interesting perspectives on this little place that I visit so often.

I clambered onto the shallow ledge you see in the first image posted here where I was surprised to see the view that I did. Though the weather and light were far from perfect, I decided to go back to retrieve my camera gear and see what I could come up with from this spot photographically. For these images I used a 6-stop neutral density filter which holds back much of the light, allowing for a slower than normal shutter speed to be used. As a result of the shutter being open longer, several waves came in and then washed out again, creating the “misty” ocean effect seen here. The damp conditions made the ledge I was standing on pretty precarious, but in return I got some nice, saturated colors.

I am glad that I took the time to discover and learn more about this cove, and I can only imagine what the view from this ledge looks like in the morning when the sun first hits the cliff face. All the more reason to return again…

I'd love to hear from you...

