Otter Cove, Acadia National Park

Standard

Back in my favorite national park… Acadia.

The alarm went off at 4:10am this morning, and I stealthily made my way out of the house hoping not to wake everyone. It had been a few weeks since I last visited Acadia, and with the unseasonably warm weather we have been having lately I definitely had an itch that needed scratching. The one hour drive to Acadia seemed to take no time at all, and before long it I was parked on the loop road enjoying the pre-dawn light from the east.

I never get tired of being in Acadia, especially before the sun comes up when I usually have the coastline all to myself. This morning was no exception, with low-tide and some spectacular light adding to the amazing and solitary experience. This is a combination of two exposures blended to handle the dynamic range, and it is the very first image I opened when I got home. I haven’t even looked at any of the other images from this morning yet, I was so excited about this one! A longer shutter smoothed out the Atlantic Ocean, and the highlights caught on the round rocks are quite something. I kinda like this…

7 thoughts on “Otter Cove, Acadia National Park

    • David Patterson

      Thanks… this is a very peaceful and beautiful place. Early in the morning there aren’t too many people around to share it with… am OK with that 🙂

  1. Stunning photographs, again, David! The light is magnificent. For those of us who can’t get to Acadia in an hour, or don’t get up often enough for sunrise when we’re there, thanks for sharing! You should post for all of the Acadia fans on Facebook. Happy Spring!

    • David Patterson

      Lynn… thanks for the kind words. The sun comes up in the summer VERY early in Maine, so I was kind of happy about the “late” 6:28am sunrise this time of year!

I'd love to hear from you...

