Sand and Water

Standard

I am experimenting with adding a black border on the top and bottom of this image… I was wondering if it helps in the presentation of the details?

Late one afternoon while wandering throughout the Mesquite dunes in Death Valley I came across these patterns in the sand on the edge of a temporary pond. Recent rains had impacted the dunes in many ways, and I was intrigued by the textures, shapes and lines created by the past subtle (and not so subtle) movement of water. They reminded me of the awesome power of nature at work, and even though they were the result of very recent changes, it was easy for me to imagine that they were from a more ancient time.

Maybe not a typical grand landscape that we are used to seeing from Death Valley, but this image serves as a more intimate reminder to me of the experiences I had with Sam exploring what is a wonderful national park. He was immediately impressed and drawn to discovering everything he could about these dunes, and I think genuinely appreciated the uniqueness and scale of his surroundings. Knowing that this was his kind of place, time spent exploring what was an almost surreal landscape together, is time that I will always treasure.

Although you see the world different than me
Sometimes I can touch upon the wonders that you see
All the new colors and pictures you’ve designed
Oh yes, sweet darling
So glad you are a child of mine

–  Child of Mine by Carole King

4 thoughts on “Sand and Water

  1. Not sure you need the border. The image looks strong enough to stand on its own to my eye. I really like the abstract qualities of this image. Beautifully seen and captured.

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Ed. I appreciate the feedback on the black border. I was trying for something a little more intimate than what you usually see in Death Valley, and this mini-scape in the dunes caught my eye. It looks as though it could have been here for ages, though I know it was very temporary.

I'd love to hear from you...

