Impressionism in the forest

Standard

Another wonderful Sunday morning spent wandering along the “Deer Trail” in the Bangor Forest, and a couple more impressionistic images captured moving the camera while the shutter was open.

Most of my images in this genre to date have been landscape oriented, but when I saw this scene I knew it was a prime candidate for applying this technique in a portrait orientation.

The leaves strewn across the forest floor added an element of color to the scene that I hoped would provide an interesting foreground, and the lines offered by the tree trunks would hopefully hold the viewer’s interest compositionally. The vertical shape of the image I think also accentuates the lines.

Though I realize that not everyone will like this type of image, I personally enjoy the color palette and find it very pleasing to the eye.

In the second image, I was drawn not only to the large tree in the foreground with the vertical patterns on the bark, but also to the layers of trees that you can see in the background.

As we wandered along the trail, the light would periodically break through the canopy of the forest, and at this time of year the sun is fairly low in the sky offering pretty dramatic side-lighting on the tree trunks. The shadows and highlights on the tree trunks add depth to this image that is crucial to its impact.

I love how the colors and shapes blend together while still maintaining enough of their original form to allow the viewer to understand what they are looking at. I enjoy how what are often complex and cluttered scenes become simplified and distilled to basic elements.

3 thoughts on “Impressionism in the forest

  1. Lori

    I love how you can turn something fairly ordinary into something so beautiful. Please make a print of the photograph at the bottom 🙂

  2. Lovely impressionistic blurs, David. I particularly like the colors in the first (portrait) blurs. Very nice work. Blurs, pans and multiple exposures have kept me interesting during this gray and brown time of the year.

    • David Patterson

      Ed… thanks. I hear you on the need for inspiration at this time of year. I have been enjoying the experiments in creativity using different techniques that you have been sharing on your blog. Can’t believe I am actually saying this… but I am almost looking forward to the snow coming and all of the possibilities that winter will bring.

I'd love to hear from you...

